Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the City

by Sannis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about guy who lives under the city. His only job is stealing and he loves hats.

Tutorial is ingame - dont forget to check it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Graphics looked funny with those sprite animations haha, entertaining little game, can be improved upon adding a few more stuff, what I didn't like is that I got busted suddendly without notice.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

HAHAHAH VERY FUN GAME! :D awesome concept, very creative on the saving the progress and the money, i got busted when i got 180$ :c. Nice music too. I wish there were more stuff on the level tho but great work :D

drnick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Good lighting effects, but a somewhat generic platformer. I didn't get what do you mean by "tricks", O key did nothing.

Nnoel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

The lighting system was pretty cool, and it was fun punching people for a while. Then every night was the same thing, and the gameplay got stale really quick. I'm not sure what the game had to do with the theme, since the whole point is about a thief above the surface.

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I always got caught :-( I like the graphics and mood though, very nice lighting effect and seeing the people outside the buildings

Sannis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

Oh, sorry guys, the tricks is Q and E, its just the font.

Sannis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

And you must press it when you are in air.

Sannis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

And you get busted when you touch people outside after you stolen something or punched one of them.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:26am

This is one funny game. Great job.

joe40001 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:02am

I got to Day 7 and got all the hats then rested and nothing happened. Is there supposed to be more of an ending?

It's a simple game but not awful or anything, plus some of the animations made me chuckle so that's good too.

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:30am

Very fun game! Loved the graphics, especially the punching.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]