Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface

by legendpaul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

http://rapidshare.com/share/C67F68F8BC7E6CA2F08EE24E1797E7DA

Get from A to B with my Birds... just try and stay on the surface

Press Enter to Start
Arrow Keys to move your birds

Get it here ->

CODE:
https://github.com/legendpaul/BeneathTheSurface

(My First ever entry)



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#589Humor2.39
#948Audio1.83
#1080Innovation2.30
#1085Graphics2.30
#1178Mood1.97
#1181Theme2.10
#1190Fun2.03
#1250Overall2.06

Comments

Dooleus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

your web link just leads to the source, not a playable version.

Naouak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The concept is cool but it seems a bit too random. Maybe a bit more of clues would have been great.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Hi, Thanks for playing, it is not Random, it is a memory/ trial and error game

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

The controls feel good, and the overall gameplay is really enjoyable, but I dont really get the theme hre...

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

No sound and frustrating repetition. Those are my complaints. Maybe a menu and unlockable levels would do some good to this game.

Other than that, it's fine and had some fun with it.

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

The gameplay is 100% trial and error, and in that respect the concept is inherently flawed. Next time try to spend more time on the design aspect and figure out how you can make the gameplay more engaging.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Would be nice if there was less trial and error to this. Maybe some sort of hint or clue about the correct path.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22pm

I couldn't get the game to work. It crashes the second I click the .exe.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

It really needs some kind of clue, or maybe a way to get more birds to send to their death ;)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I like the graphics and way the birds hop around.

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Managed to beat all 3 levels!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Looks neat- port to web so I can play?

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Couldn't get it to work, it doesn't open at all.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I beat all 4 levels but mainly through sheer rage, I'm not sure this is a great premise for a game, the hopping birds following you were ace though!

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

it's really trial and error, could have benefited from sound as well. The concept is interesting, I just feel that a little bit more strategy could help a lot with this! The animation was pretty damn endearing too.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Die and retry is a design flaw, not a feature.
The concept could be interesting if you added another game mechanic. With a little more work, you got something.

jomomomo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

Can't play windows games, any chance we could get a web version?

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:11am

As others have pointed out, the trial-and-error approach isn't terribly fun. Nice work on the birds, though.

GarethIW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Trial and error gameplay without any kind of clues really doesn't work, sorry :(

Stuffie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Sorry, I couldnt get it to run (Win7). Extracted it and try to trun it but nothing happened.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Annoying that if you fail at a level it takes you back to the start rather than just to the beginning of that level, but in general I liked the concept, and it was pretty fun to play

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Overall it was fun to play, but the lack of sound was a pity.
I liked the colorful little birds!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]