Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skeleton Invasion

by Lee1121 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Skeleton Invasion is a tower defense where you must defend your castle from the invading skeletons.

You've got two towers at your disposal:
- the ballista, which shoots fast, but does low damage
- the cannon, which shoots slowly, but does more than 3 times the damage as the ballista

-------------------------Lore-------------------------------
You live in a peaseful country called Lumbria.
Your miners digged in a cursed ancient tomb, which caused masses of skeletons to wake up from their slumber.
These skeletons are not peaceful creatures, so they started attacking your miners. There was only one survivor.
That surviver managed to report the invading skeletons to you just in time.
Now it's up to you to defend your castle from the invading skeletons.

--------------------------Controls--------------------------

Start the application:
- Press "Run" at the bottom of the screen

Start over:
- Press "Retry" or "Reset"

Building towers:
- On the right side of the screen is a menu
- Click on the tower of choice
- Go to the location where you want to place it

- Changed your mind and you want to build the other tower?
- Click on the menu where the tower came from

Spawn the enemies:
- Click on "Next wave"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#843Fun2.70
#990Humor1.78
#1036Overall2.67
#1105Graphics2.26
#1124Mood2.23
#1191Innovation2.04
#1246Theme1.75
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

This was pretty nice, although a bit too easy. :)

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

the reset and next wave buttons are very close next to each other. I started the game, started wave 1, then unfortunately, I clicked the retry button. otherwise, nice entry (though I couldn't see the theme)

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

wave 14, no end in sight. they keep coming

i agree with pythong. I always have to be really careful regarding the buttons

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

I'm pretty sure those cannons miss sometimes, but maybe its just the animation :)

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Thanks for the feedback!

@manabreak: didn't have much time for balancing unfortunately :(
@pythong & @mess110: sorry, I thought there was plenty of space between the buttons
@mess110: the waves are indeed infinite
@Shire: they do, which is on purpose :) (the cannonballs themselves are also slow, which I forgot to mention)

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Will never get tired of TDs
I too clicked retry, but it was just my stupidity.
Nice entry!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

It's simple and enjoyable. But... the theme?

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

@SoupWithBits & @AmmoreChicks: thank you very much
@AmmoreChick: they come out of a cave (I know, not very creative ;) )

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:05am

Can't download (JAR link)

Lee1121 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:52am

@MSaul Fixed, sorry for the inconvenience.

Newt_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really cool mechanics!

MrBlade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:47pm

A nice game. Fine graphics with solid gameplay make this game a good time. I would have liked some sounds. I assume it's intentional, but on the second wave, both my cannons, and my archer were hitting the bad guys 300 times over and they were not dying, weird. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]