Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Necro

by Kara Jayde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

'Necro' is a PC title, developed in Unity by @KaraaJayde for the Ludum Dare 29, 48 hour competition. In it, the player takes on the role of a flesh-eating bacteria, as it attempts to dissolve as much flesh via touch, whilst replicating, to beat the level goals.

Arrows/WASD - Movement
Space - Release Toxic Gas (speeds up decay & kills white cells).

Collect Yellow cells to replicate faster.
Avoid or Kill White cells.
Avoid Blue cells.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#50Theme3.98
#236Innovation3.54
#368Humor2.73
#465Audio2.90
#511Graphics3.23
#570Mood2.97
#658Overall3.08
#849Fun2.68

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Dividing was fun and the music is excellent, but the pace is little slow (or I'm missing something?).

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Pretty cool concept! It was fun to multiply and start chewing up more flesh.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

I don't think I quite get the concept. It seems like an okay game, but I don't think I fully understand it. Nice sounds, good graphics, feels solid. Keep it up.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

Good stuff, gotta love those beeps'n boops. Also nice take on the theme.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22am

Neat idea, but very slow to play. Good use of audio though!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Oh wow this game is so messed up. Actual flesh eating bacteria as protagonist. :) Really nice.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:43am

Interesting game. Level 1 was a little easy but those white cells were totally cornering me by level 2.

Like others have said, maybe it's a little slow. Breaking the skin probably isn't necessary, as it takes a good 10+ seconds to get through with no risk. You could probably just go deeper into the same body.

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

I like the concept a lot. But I feel like the pace was too slow... Or maybe I didn't quite understand what I was supposed to do. Also I couldn't beat level 2 D: But I enjoyed it! Great job for 48 hours

Wertle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38am

Nice simple mechanic, albeit kind of gross :) I had trouble recognizing the yellow pickup as a "good" thing because it was kinda spiky like the bad things. but consuming flesh was gratifying.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Ha ha! Disgusting game... I love it! I think the slowness is part of the charm - I could totally imagine this getting a lot of plays on my Atari 2600

TomCooper3D says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:24am

i really like your game label, game program^tm is awesome. really cool concept and at first glance i thought we made a similar game but they have a very different feel i like your its super weird and awesome ahah gj

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:40am

Nice! It was kind of slow, but that made the increased speed of flesh eating when you get a bunch of the little guys that much more gratifying :) Also, I really like the colors you used!

ElStevo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nice little game ! Addictive and fun ! good job !

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:37am

It's well made but the pace is far too slow. I began to multi task while waiting for the blocks to break.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:29am

I really like this. I didn't read the description but once I realized I was eating skin I thought it was an awesome take on the theme. Also, graphics and movement were spot on. I personally feel as though there is a better way to have movement on a collection (instead of moving them all in the same direction). But this might not be possible (I have given thought to a similar concept for a game). Anyway, the only other thing I would suggest is making the toxin either more immediate or more visible when it actually does the collision detection. Otherwise it seems inconsistent and potentially confusing. Great work overall though! I feel like this has a lot of potential.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:08am

Fun concept and great interpretation of the theme, but it could probably be a bit faster paced.

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:06am

First few times I didn't "get" the game and didn't realize I had to press down to swim in the blood because my guy would disappear.

After I figured it out it became a lot more fun, but it should be noted that the screen is too high in FireFox (in Chrome it fit within the boundaries of my window, though).

Kate Kligman says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:49am

I felt bad playing this game. :) Slow but good gameplay. Like the Atari cartridge pic above.

cageinabird says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:39am

I liked the transition between breaking the skin and floating around beneath the surface. You could give it a strategic purpose, and let the player choose where to enter.

Dissolving was fun, as was trying to avoid the bad cells, although collision didn't seem perfect. Also, I couldn't really tell what the toxin was doing.

May 9, 2014 @ 5:56am

I like the game but I thing game should faster.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]