Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duck & Cover

by AdVurt - Jam Entry

The Gould Brothers' debut project, made for Ludum Dare 29's Jam! It's a puzzle platformer - original, I know.

Save as many ducks as you can, while taking cover so that you don't get crushed BENEATH THE SURFACE from the sky!

There are 30 levels to play, and an incredible one-song soundtrack, entirely original!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#181Fun(Jam)3.32
#200Humor(Jam)3.04
#284Audio(Jam)3.24
#338Innovation(Jam)3.08
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#578Mood(Jam)2.68
#627Theme(Jam)2.56
#696Graphics(Jam)2.31
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

Great fun! Good puzzles. Love the soundtrack

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46am

Tricky to cope once sky starts falling, some of the edge of block jumping is difficult to predict - though I am bad at the precise movement thing, might just be me.
I like the chicken-little aspects as well as the overall design.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice game, enjoyed playing it!

feyleaf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

This was invigorating. Some of the later levels stumped me for a few tries. Good music, good puzzle-solving mechanic. Really kept me on my toes with the ceiling of doom being timed just perfectly in each level. Keep up the good work ^_^

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Quack quack!

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Wicked music, but i found the third level impossible to get all the ducks

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:06am

Love it, couldn't stop playing :D

Recon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Funteresting!

M4rw4 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:41pm

nice idea and Nice soundtrack, it only needs a better level design. good work :)

Blokatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:37pm

I really liked the concept! Well done. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]