Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Must SMASH!

by microapple - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about destroying things to get what you want!

Smash objects to get the key that is hidden on each floor. The object is to go down as many floors as possible before time runs out.

Controls are listed upon starting up the game.

Post-mortem coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#302Humor2.87
#467Fun3.11
#638Innovation2.94
#773Audio2.32
#788Overall2.94
#878Mood2.63
#935Theme2.75
#950Graphics2.55

Comments

4KbShort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

Interesting concept. The mixed controls made it a bit confusing, but only so much as to make it more challenging. I did have a harder time activating the doors on lower floors (5-7) but otherwise very well designed.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Really fun for the most part, though the hitboxes on the open doors seemed to be finicky. I seemed to need to be positioned just right to activate them. Great job overall!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Hey!

This is nice. I think the controls are a bit wobbly: they definitely take some getting used to. In particular you seem to imply that SPACE can be used to smash, which confused me for a little bit. I suggest you either take out that little visual cue or allow me to mash space. As a trackpad user I'd rather use space to smash.

I really like the look and the game's got some style! Good effort.

harko12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

The E key didn't work for me, to get past lvl 1

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

Very cool game. I kept wanting to press space to jump, and the mouse being the attack was a bit confusing, and sometimes the doors wouldnt open, but it was fun.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Very fun. The controls and hit boxes could be fine tuned though.

javierecf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

The controls need a bit work to get used to, i dont see why the use of the mouse is necessary, there is so many more keys on the keyboard to use.

Maybe adding enemies would do things more interesting? ...

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

I was able to get down to Floor 10. I liked when there were objects I could simultaneously smash, as I could do some planning. Either the controls should be less slippery, or the story should call it out with wet floor signs, ice, or something similar.

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Simple and fun! I like Elevator Action so I got a kick out of this. Controls are a touch wobbly, as mentioned, but not a dealbreaker.

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Got to 11. :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

Haha the guy reminds me of the yeti in Ski Free! I actually liked the wobbly controls, and it was fun and challenging to play.

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

I got to floor 22. I was able to skip floors by spamming E when I went through a door. Is that a bug?

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

Fun. Small bug however, spamming "e" at a door will let you skip floors.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

Really hard to control. The buttons were all over the place and I would zoom all over the place

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

Fun game, would have been nice to have a little more interaction (like enemies that fought back or something). Overall, good job!

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Excelent idea! Unfortunately I'm getting stuck.. sometimes I can't call the elevator or use the keycard..

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Cool, made it to floor 10. I thought the controls were okay. I was hoping I'd be able to smash stuff, and I did not come away displeased.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Nice little concept. Controls maybe a little bit floaty.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36am

Really fun, but strange controls!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

Decent idea, some more variety or a win condition might help make it more interesting. I did not like the horizontal speed the character reaches, since it felt a bit like ice skating.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Nice game :)

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Not bad.
Sometimes I didnt get a key even when I smashed all the things on the floor.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Neat little game. The key bindings were a little strange maybe, and the acceleration of the dude felt a bit floaty, but the concept was good.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Interesting game. I got kinda confused with the mixed up controls, but I guess that was to make it harder. Well designed game. I reached level6

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I thought it seemed to lack a challenge until I noticed the running timer. Man it gets hectic. :D

Would be interesting to see how powerups could mix things up. Overall, great stuff. :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

I would have preferred if all of the art had the same base resolution, mismatching pixel sizes kind of bugs me. The lights, or whatever those white square things were, were a pain in the ass to hit, but it definitely kept it from feeling monotonous. It reminded me of old-school arcade games, where who cares just smash it. It's a fun little time waster, and the mechanics/controls did a good job supporting the frenetic feeling that the clock wanted me to have.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47am

Smashing...Needs Explosions:)

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30am

Pretty fun and unique :) felt like a man on a rampage lol.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Nice idea!

May 17, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Came for the smashing, left satisfied.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]