Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DeepSeaBombing

by dlweatherhead - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry into the 48 hour compo for LD29.
The theme inspiration was thinking of submarines that are under the surface of the deep sea, and the ships that hunt for them. The end result was something a bit more silly and fun, with sea critters.

Created using: Unity3D Free Addition, Photoshop CS5, Bfxr.
This is a simple entry, helped me get plenty of experience and practice.

Inputs:
Left/Right keys for movement
Space, dropping barrels

Kill the subs, try to protect the sea creatures, and see how long you can survive. I hope you enjoy.

Please Note: The OSX and Linux versions are untested. Please play the Web version.

Hint #1: The submarines still fire torpedoes for a short time after dying, and disappearing below the screen. As they are sinking to the ocean floor below.
Hint #2: The more marine life you kill, different messages appear on the menu screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#204Humor3.11
#350Fun3.28
#450Theme3.38
#712Graphics2.92
#754Overall2.97
#767Audio2.33
#822Mood2.69
#1085Innovation2.28

Comments

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39am

Really like the quick pased gameplay. Had a little fun with this one.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

It's a fun game, it gets really hilarious when jellyfish start pushing submarines to the surface, or a submarine sinks a whale. It is very hard not to die quickly though.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Had a problem with 'dead' subs continuing to fire missiles up.. which made the whole area a no-go zone pretty quickly. The do this even after offscreen.
Nice look and feel!

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

I died very quickly. The same idea as my game but with more action! I like the arcade feel...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

Kept getting missiles coming from offscreen below even though I'd destroyed the submarines. Fun quick game.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

Really hard, I couldn't beat 205.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

very addictive and fun :)

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

That unicorn dolphin is priceless:)
I like the way fishes die.
Is the bomb coming under the screen a bug or intended?

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

very interesting and fun, good job!... hah... that flag inverted looks cool ;p

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27am

Thank you to everyone for the comments and critique I will take it all to heart :) (That's if those who commented see this :P)... Just as FYI the torpedos from below the screen are intended, it's the idea that the submarines are sinking to the depths of the ocean, and still shooting up for as long as they can. But, I will work on that because it is definitely causing confusion.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30am

Hilarious and fun to play. Love the hardcore arcade feel this game has. I personally would have decreased the speed of enemy torpedos a bit, to make it a little less difficult, but aside from that, well done!

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59am

Good job on finishing this. Its a nice game. I really liked the chain reaction deaths, and narhwals :)

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I too like to throw depth charges at narwhals.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Hey it's a cool little game, I like the variance it had from traditional sub attack games in that there's PHYSICS involved under the sea! The missiles from enemies can quickly and easily out of hand, not sure if that's a + or a - :)

Good job!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22am

Pretty hard and fast-paced entry! Simple, but enjoyable.
Dead submarines firing missiles while sinking is a pain but, man I love when I sink too and start carrying them all to the depths!

jayemjee says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58pm

It's pretty good, with a couple of bugs in it, primarily the fact that the subs will continue to fire even after they've died, until they're far below the bottom of the screen (even then, I got killed by a dead submarine), there's no way to earn extra lives, and...at least one sub literally flew off into space.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Fun, I like the fact things sinking take out other stuff on thier way down :D.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:51am

Was impossibly hard at first but once I got the hang of it I felt like I could play forever. The "dead" subs should definitely not keep shooting all the way offscreen... love the sprites.

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:32am

The idea is interesting. I think the dead submarines shouldn't be able to fire missiles though. And the missiles should be a bit slower in my opinion, there could be more submarines instead, because now it's difficult, often almost impossible to dodge them.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]