Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DEEPER

by _adamturnbull - Jam Entry

Deeper takes you on a journey into darkness to uncover the truth. Will you find the truth?

Dark, CHECK! Moody, CHECK! Pretentious, CHECK!

I won't get any more time to work on it so here is my solo entry for the Jam. It would be great to know what you all think and let me know if you get to the end :)

Made using:
Unity 4.3
Playmaker

Sounds are from -
http://www.freesound.org/
http://www.nosoapradio.us/

(I did this solo but Submitted to the Jam instead of the Compo due to using Playmaker and sound clips.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.30
#11Mood(Jam)4.35
#51Audio(Jam)3.97
#115Overall(Jam)3.64
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#393Humor(Jam)2.50
#505Fun(Jam)2.75
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Really like this game, the mood is great and works really well with the sound. The movement makes you feel like you're underwater but isn't too slow. GUI is a little on the big side. Nice entry Adam(:

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Thanks for the feedback :) much appreciated!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

The mood was absolute great, but the slow pacing of the game was just painfully slow.

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Hi there,

great game you made! I liked the atmosphere and the audio which really creates a nice mood.

The "blocky" Character and the really big level (could probably be divided into more smaller levels are some drawbacks.
Nevertheless i had a good time playing! :)

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Thanks for the feedback guys :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Amazing atmosphere and aesthetics. I did feel that the game played way too slowly though. It does contribute to the overall theme and feel of the game in terms of slow discovery but it also leaves the game without any interesting mechanics.

Awesome in terms of an experience but not so much as a game. Still, amazing work and great use of the theme!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Yeh I wanted it to be a slow-paced game but I know what you mean about it playing too slowly. I definitely need to think more about how it plays as a game next time.

If I get time tonight I might increase the speed a little before the deadline.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

That's a great game, I love it. Fantastic work

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37am

Poignant, beautiful, it really gives the feeling of night diving; the disorientation, the vastness of what one floats in. The mood was perfect, the music too. The only critique I have is about the GUI. A bit too big and took away from the field of vision. I wouldn't say it was too slowly. Diving isn't a fast pastime! Amazing work!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

Very good entry. I like how it fits the theme on two levels. The atmosphere complemented by the audio was amazing and I'll repeat what the others said - the GUI was a bit of a problem. It hides the bottom part of the screen and since most of the time you're descending it is kinda in the way.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Very nice. I like overall ambiance is fine. Like the music.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

AWEESSOOIMEMEMAA+

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

A nice contemplative work. I think the interpretive nature of the phrases works really well and the music is awesome, the audio fits just right.

Statman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Really love it, graphics and mood are very expresive. Good job !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

I went deeper but nothing happened. The mood was great, though.

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Nice visual and audio atmosphere. The movement is really slow, but fits well the game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great experiment! Dark story with a great mood and polish graphics, good job! =)

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:46am

I think the slow pace really adds a lot to the tension and mood of the game. Yes, it can get a little bit frustrating if you're in a hurry to get to the end, but the atmosphere was so gripping I didn't feel like I needed to rush.

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Love the atmosphere. I didn't find truth though :/

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Would it be possible to have a Linux export?

0Creds says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Fantastic game, controls so well, story is cool, graphics are great, sound is great, lighting is great, everything is great :D GUI is a little too big, but otherwise, the game is very fun. Fantastic Job.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:36pm

The is a great first entry. Love the visuals. Really effective.

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:25am

Nice game. Kinda too big and slow for a exploration game... but, at the same time, it was quite nice getting the story only from what you found... I specially liked the audio snippets.

I really liked this.

Michael Grand says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

My guess is that I'm not going to find the truth o.O I have a suspicion that the game is randomly generating terrain as I go, and I'm not actually going anywhere, lol

TeamFlare says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:54pm

This was intense. The atmosphere is great and very sad. Very cool job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]