Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

FuMeKuRi (page-turner)

by negiyan - Jam Entry

Please use the space key and the left and right keys.

coder:
C000

artist:
Hiromu Sugawara

composers:
YUKI watanabe
negiyan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.63
#15Mood(Jam)4.30
#60Fun(Jam)3.69
#73Humor(Jam)3.59
#77Overall(Jam)3.74
#147Innovation(Jam)3.52
#226Graphics(Jam)3.74
#705Theme(Jam)2.20
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

geekdrums says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

The best so far! Simple gameplay, unique mood, and fantastic music. great work.

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05am

This would be an excellent game for young kids.

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

Lovely atmosphere, made me smile.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:22am

Oh.... this is fun! I loved the hidden mechanics, the art, the use of the audio, the unusually realistic hand/face... everything! It was actually difficult enough that I had trouble at first to figure out what to do, and felt very proud of myself after I'd thought it through and could complete the levels.

With that in mind, the only improvement I can mention on this short and sweet game is some kind of change in the "1 2 3 4" passageway so that you can see you've finished the level! I think it improve satisfaction a little bit.

Thank you for the experience. This was really cute.

May 7, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Super cute, and super confusing. I really enjoyed the use of voices in making the ふ め く り. ユーニックなゲームを作ってくれてありがとう!

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:07pm

So friggin' cute! I also really liked the songs! :)

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Great job! I had a blast playing this. It's a small touch, but I enjoyed getting points for jumping with reckless abandon.

JavadocMD says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Super cute and impressively innovative. The only thing I'd want is a more obvious expression of the LD theme. I absolutely love the way the notes are "scored". Delicious.

Some notes (haha) for improvement: 1) Intro the player to the mechanics. Only by chance did I realize I was supposed to jump over the page turns. 2) When jumping, the "hitbox" for collecting a note should also jump. It seemed that notes only registered at the same y-level regardless of jumping. Also the hitbox doesn't line up with the character portrait (especially the head) which is a little counter-intuitive.

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

5/5 cuteness

SethR says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nice package, really liked the music!

Boberro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:44am

Audio 4/5. I can't give more as long as you're 'playing' snare instead of some melody :)

May 8, 2014 @ 9:55am

Great game, i really love the music !
Good job !

PapyGaragos says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:40am

There is something really special about this game... Good job!

(but be careful, you need to rate at least 20 other games if you want to see the ratings you got)

Dreauw says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:48am

Simple gameplay but really fun :D
I loved the music, especially the one in level 2.

I tried to do each levels without missing notes, but that's not so easy (8019/12437/8118/10943)

Well done :)

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:09am

Excellent! Super cute! Fun to play as well.

Simple graphics that really go with the game.
I like Japanese pop, so a big plus for me there.

Small points: It wasn't always clear when you hit a note or not (same for the page).
Is it the case that catching more notes in a row doesn't matter much? I thought that the scores should multiply, so you would strive for faultless levels for ridiculous high scores?

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

Out of my own interest: how did you get the timing of the tambourine sound right? I found timinbg sounds in Flash always a bit tricky.

May 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Interesting game mechanics. Great audio, and really nice looking. A little too easy I think, it didn't seem to get any harder throughout the game and levels. I also think it could have been interesting if the sound made when you collect the note is part of the moelody as opposed to being the same cymbal. Really enjoyed it though, had a nice surreal quality to it.

loxo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Really great entry with amazing audio. It took me a while to figure out how to play the game, but then I made it easily through all the levels. So I would like to see some more challenging levels.

radmars says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:58am

Great music! And the art is adorable. Sugoi!

DonovanWu says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Nice simple art. Nice simple game mechanic. Great music!

May 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

Simple, well put-together, and very cute. Great combination of graphics and audio to set a lighthearted mood!

Jeremias says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:44pm

What did I just played? :D Very cute. And that music!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]