Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave-In Jumpin'

by BasselGaming - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ludum dare entry, had fun creating it :D

CONTROLS
=========
A-D or left and right arrow keys to move.

Space, W, or up arrow key to jump.

Survive from the rocks as long as you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#540Fun3.03
#895Overall2.83
#912Theme2.79
#941Innovation2.55
#972Graphics2.52
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12am

This is well done. It took me a bit to figure out how it works, but this is a cool idea, and I really don't think I've ever seen this done before.

BasselGaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Thank you, I forgot to add instructions because it was late and i needed some sleep, glad you figured it out tho! :D

01101101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:52am

Nice idea, too bad we can't use the pick (or at least I didn't find how to). It would be really fun to mine the rocks to get gold and stuff before they despawn, while avoiding getting crushed by the next ones ;)
I can see this becoming a pretty cool game with a bit more work, some sounds etc. Well done! :)

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:12am

Thanks 01101101, The idea of the pick was in mind, but unfortunately, i didnt have enough time.. I was also planning on sounds and better menus but as i said, not enough time due to different timezones. Thanks for your feedback! :D

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:16am

Make him faster and more agile. Better to play a hard game with an awesome character than a easy game with s slow-mo performer. Liked the concept

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:26am

Great game for your first Ludum dare. Good job!

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:36am

Mrhill, Thanks for your opinion, but i don't think i can go back and edit that.. Thorig, thanks :D

iambored2006 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:55am

Yay! Physics enabled stuff!
I liked your game, and I have some suggestions-
* have the rocks amass so that the player has to climb them.
* that jump, man! I'd really like to see a version of this with better jumping.
* more varied rocks, but obviously that's a matter of the time constraints.
* I don't know what you're doing right now, but having the difficulty ramp up could do wonders to your game!
Anyway, good entry!
Could you check out my game?

Sheepolution says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

It's a good basis of a game, but could use some more features. It's too easy right now.

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:15am

Yaay! for your points :
*I didn't have time to make actual levels, or generating levels, so i made the rocks despawn(i know, lazy)

* I will adjust that, same as speed as Mrhill said, in another version

* I wanted to make more rocks but 2 were enough for the time limit

* School exams are coming up in a week, but still i think i can add difficulty.
Thanks a bunch for your feedback, and sure i would love to! send me a link on twitter : @Basselyd

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:16am

Thanks sheepolution, as you can see in previous comments, alot of things were planned to be added, but unfortunately, didn't have enough time.

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice. Great game.

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:22am

Thanks :D

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:39am

Very small but nice game, it is funny.

Tuism says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Really good for a first LD!

Instructions were needed, though because I've played games like this before I figured it out quickly enough. Some comments:

1. The lose condition is a bit fuzzy - sometimes I do get hit on the head but doesn't die. I'm guessing it's just positioning of the hit box that's the issue here.

2. The only bit of animation are his two tiny single pixel feet! If you're gonna animate, let people see that you've done it! :)

3. Single hit death is a bit harsh :P

4. I think the rocks should hang around more. I'm pretty sure it shouldn't lag the game out if you let them all hang around and not auto-destroy after a while.

Keep up the good work, this was a great learning exercise!

Look for "the incident" and "the blocks cometh" to see how they took this mechanic to a finished game :)

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Thanks, Caridorc

ruerob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice one. Makes a lot of fun. Thank you for that game.

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Tuism, Thanks for your feedback.
1. I know, it is only a raycast from his head.
2. I am not a good artist :P and i'm horrible at animation.
3. Didn't have enough time to add lives and other things.
4. I made the rocks disappear cause i didn't have a level built or a generated one :P so it's just to hide my laziness xD.

Thanks a lot for your opinion it helps me out alot. I will check those games out to see.

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:14pm

That makes me really happy ruerob! Thanks for that! :D

AutumnGuy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:49am

Interesting idea! I think with some polish and a bit more info on what is going on, this could be a really cool mobile game. :)

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Thanks! I really wanted to polish it up and add instructions and stuff, but didn't have enough time. Thanks for your feedback!

May 3, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Make and submit a Post-LD version!

In addition to some of the other things that have been said, which are all really good ideas.. I found that jumping was slightly glitchy; when on top of a rolling block or being pushed by one, I often couldn't jump at all. Otherwise, too easy, made it to 120+ before I decided I probably wasn't going to die soon; difficulty needs to ramp up.

Once you implement the pickaxe usage, our game will have quite some similarities. :P

phi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:30pm

You really make it look like there's more to the game than there actually is. It's a simple concept, but it's definitely well implemented (although the physics are a little buggy). It's easy to understand and good to handle. Great job for your first LD! (Much better than my first attempt...)

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

JuiceBox, Sorry, what's a Post-LD? Yeah, jumping is buggy, so is some physical stuff.. but that's what i was able to do in time. So you mean i should work on it more and add the suggestions in? i think that's a great idea!

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Thanks a lot phi! :D

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Cool base idea, I'd love to see you explore the mechanics a bit more. Great debut!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Giving the character a pickaxe is deceiving, since you can't do anything with it. The movement was a bit floaty, if you'd make it a bit more responsive and made the rocks gain velocity when falling, you'd have a pretty cool fast paced game. Good work nevertheless!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice idea! You have a fun game in the making here. Make it a bit fast and you got it. Good job!

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Make A Game, Thanks for your response, i added the pickaxe to make it a little bit more obvious that he's a miner, Later i wanted to add something to it but didn't have time. The rocks have normal rigid bodies with gravity on, that was the best i could do in time. Thanks a bunch for your feedback!

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Otrora, Thanks dude! cant edit it now that it's submitted but will keep in mind for future games.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:56pm

nice game :) would be cool if the rocks just stuck around and you won if you got to the top or something

soy_yuma says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Congrats on your first entry! I hope this is first to many. Also, good luck on your exams! :-)

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:05am

Ragzouken, Thanks, there kind of was no level to climb xD

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:06am

soy_yuma, Thanks buddy! i will try my best to participate in next Ludum Dares. Thank you

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:31am

Hey there, BasselGaming. Thanks again for playing/rating NOPE, I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

I think this is a great start, but as you and others have made clear it's just a start.

I agree with people that I thought I was supposed to be able to use the pick - unfortunate that you didn't have time to implement this. I understand that changing art late is a pain though.

The collision for me was a little rough - specifically between my character and the rocks. He got stuck on them instead of jumping many times, so I would try to smooth that out a bit. I was using Chrome on Windows OS to play.

Survival is a great genre and this is a fun idea for it, but as others have mentioned it should speed up or something should change. As it is currently, I think there are SO many places this game could go. You simply didn't have time to take it to any of them. :\

Finally, I think you should add more description at the top of your entry - that's totally legal and would help people know the controls. You could also do what's known as a Post-Mortem journal where you can talk more about what you WANTED the game to be. I think many of us (myself included) would find that interesting.

I wish you the best of luck with your design And congrats on your first LD! Here's to first timers! :D

Take care.

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:39am

shadow64,

All the points you have made are great and will definitely be in mind. but, how do i make a post-mortem? or where can i make it? Thanks a lot for your comment.

Crazi456 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:10am

Was pretty entertaining. Sometimes it was difficult for me to jump while ontop of rocks. Nice work!

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:03am

Thanks, i think the problem in jumping was caused by raycasts, not sure tho, But thanks :D

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice job for your first LD. It's a good base for a game. Some background music or sound effects would go a long way. Also shaking up the timing / speed of the rocks falling could have positive effect on the gameplay.

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:14am

Thanks for your suggestions, rojo.

McFunkypants says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Cave-in Jumpin' is awesome! Imagine v2: more rocks that really pile up, and it would be great is the controls were tweaks such that you ALWAYS jump when you try to.

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:40pm

:D

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Solid, but not a big deal. Check my video about my further opinion.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Pretty simple game, I wish that the rocks didnt disappear, so that we had to climb further up. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

BasselGaming says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Katamori, what video? Thanks for your opinion

BasselGaming says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Jupiter, thanks dude, i made them disappear bec. i had no auto generated level. Thanks a bunch! checked it out

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]