Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pawn

by Jadernak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pawn struggles with his identity in an abstract world.

This game is basically a little platformer with a story inspired by a hook in GZA - Beneath The Surface.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#113Mood3.71
#179Audio3.43
#372Innovation3.34
#439Overall3.30
#551Graphics3.17
#719Theme3.08
#820Humor2.06
#870Fun2.66

Comments

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50am

I will always be a pawn I get it !

Chompson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

The controls are ridiculously floaty. Pretty nice graphic design.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

very nice entry,
captivating and mysterious, but it's very hard

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

@jorgemoag Thanks :) The difficulty is intentional but hopefully not discouraging.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

@Chompson I had some trouble with the controls, they should have been more snappy, but decided to spend the development time elsewhere.

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

Love the idea of the story from the pawn's perspective :D

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

The second levels was an intense for me to find out, and still not really obvious for me, what to do.

I collected all the stars and nothing happens.

I love the music and the atmosphere though.

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Really atmospheric !

Contacaton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

My rating may be coloured by the fact that I think this game is awesome.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

@Katamori That must be some sort of bug, when you collect all the stars next level should start. Was it web or standalone version?

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

@Contacaton There is nothing woring with being little biased ;)Thanks.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

@evilDan Cheers.

Jojo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I really liked this game, the mood and story where great! The only downsides to me were the floaty controls and the long animation after you die. I almost stopped player because of the latter, but I liked the story too much to stop. :)

Diptoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I am no longer a pawn!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

That's a really great game, I did not kill the king and i don't understand all but it's poetic and original, Good job!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

You own a widescreen monitor, don't you? :) Interesting art-game. I like it!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

@cr2crstudios I do :) I saw somewhere they are most common nowadays, so I do graphics widescreen. Glad you like it.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

@Diptoman Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very nice, cool story

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:39am

WOW! This is one touchy story heavy game. Even my daughter adore it.

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:47am

Really innovative and I love the use of the theme. I think the restart needs to come way faster. The duel takes some figuring out, in my opinion, since the solution is uncommon to most games (I jumped on his head multiple times, not realizing the true solution).

The music is good, the art work is neat, and the mood is fantastic, but you can die really easily due to the controls and restarting takes too long. My suggestion would be to give the player more control or shorten the respawn. You could do one or the other, but both would vastly improve the experience, in my opinion.

Great job and thanks for sharing! :D

Jadernak says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:09am

@MintArcade I'm glad to hear that.

@shadow64 The duel was intended to be trial and error, but I realize that both the controls and long respawn animation are far too punishing. Something too keep in mind for next LD. Thanks for comments :)

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:36am

You clearly have talent, but you kinda made a game design sin. You shouldn't have the hardest part be a randomly generated thing that requires getting through a pre-timed 2 minute thing to get to it. Sometimes the rain would fall such that it was impossible to survive, and then just having to sit through the first part for 2 minutes just because you had bad luck was pretty frustrating.

It sounds like I'm being really critical, and I don't want to be because you have great talent and creativity, just be careful when you make your game to make it "challenging" and not "frustrating". Challenging means the player's failures are the player's fault, and frustrating means the player's failures are the game's fault.

Again, sorry to sound critical, because your mood was great, the graphics were great, the audio was good, and the innovation was great, so just keep at it and be careful of small slip ups that make an otherwise great game a bit too frustrating.

Jadernak says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:57am

@joe40001 I appreciate your feedback, no need to apologize for constructive criticism :) I can see that the randomness of the rain together with the controls problems might be frustrating and it wasn't in my intentions to make it non-survivable in the case of a bad luck. The point about hardest part being random is definitely very valid one, I'll keep it in mind for next time.

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:02pm

nice mood.
(i had a probleme of scale with my browser (firefox): don't see left and right things...)

grayhaze says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:34pm

An interesting idea, but took too long to understand what I was supposed to be doing on the first level and the controls felt too loose. I'm also not clear how this relates to the theme. I'm assuming GZA - Beneath The Surface is a song and the text on each screen is from the lyrics. This sounds harsher than I intended, but these are the first things I look for in a LD game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]