Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Swim

by atterday - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time participating in Ludum Dare and definitely not last time. You swim by repeatedly tapping the space bar. Don't swim into seaweed or jellyfish as you are severely allergic to those :-).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#340Graphics3.50
#483Humor2.53
#489Fun3.09
#588Theme3.23
#603Overall3.14
#852Mood2.65
#1257Innovation1.62
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Works great, it's fun to play, nice graphics... great job and congrats on your firs LD! :)

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Flappy-blonde :) I really liked your graphics and the gameplay felt responsive and good. Good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Not complex yet fun, lowest points go to innovation and audio. I give high points for graphics, theme and fun. Good job.

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Like flappy bird, but not as insanely hard. Not bad for a first LD. :-)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I wanted the jellyfish to be my friend but he killed me.

borrismoose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

It feels nice to play, I got 37 on my first go and I haven't been able to reproduce it since!

matheod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

"I wanted the jellyfish to be my friend but he killed me." :D

mactinite says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

I felt like sometimes losing was unavoidable, though I really enjoyed your take on the flappy-bird formula. The Jelly-fishes add even more difficulty. Good job and congrats!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

Very good for a first entry, makes me thinks of flappy bird, it is equally addictive :)

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

damn jellyfish, only managed to reach 16 XD , nice game, cool graphics ;D

May 2, 2014 @ 6:22am

Simple but fun!

Waterman7 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice graphics! Congrats on finishing your first LD game :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]