Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

WHAT IS IN THE SWAMP? (IT'S MONSTERS)

by tacs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are trapped in a haunted swamp, if all the lanterns go out you will have a heart attack. If you get too close to a swamp monster you will have a heart attack, if you go in the water you will be DRAGGED BENEATH THE SURFACE OMG.

Shoot the monsters, avoid them and relight the lanterns. How long can you survive?

WASD - move,
L SHIFT - run,
O - aim,
P - fire while aiming,
P - relight lanterns,

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#162Graphics3.87
#208Mood3.48
#398Overall3.33
#484Audio2.88
#639Humor2.32
#649Fun2.92
#778Innovation2.75
#921Theme2.77

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

Love the graphics, you've done a great work!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

This is awesome!, very strange controls though I'm used to shooting and aiming with a mouse

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

It was fun for about the first 30 seconds. Once you figured out how the AI moved it became crazy easy. Great job on the sound and environment!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

As an aesthetic gamer, I liked the look you managed to get in 48 hours, it reminded me and others watching on stream of the first Alone in the Dark game. However, the AI was a bit too stupid to really make it too challenging, and as how the swamp was laid out, there was only really one torch worth protecting (the one next to the ammo). However, such a game expanded, improved, and the like would be interesting, and I found the title oddly appealing.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58am

Congratulations, first fun game I played in this compo. Love the graphics.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12am

Nice art. I like the gun shooting mechanics too, feels nice and solid.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

Impressive to try and do a sort've classic survival horror and pull it off! Controls're a bit weird but got used to them quickly, nicely done! :D

davidB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Thanks for this few minutes of play.
"green shadows" have same like "blind zombies".

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

I really love the idea of a title like "WHAT IS IN THE SWAMP? (IT'S MONSTERS)". I just wish the "(IT'S MONSTERS)" part was in the title screen, haha. I was surprised how natural the controls felt, after getting used to them.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

Those controls... Old Resident Evil.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Really weird game. Kinda reminded me of Deadly Premonition.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Cool and nice game

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

Wow, this is a nice piece! The gameplay's quite different to most Ludum Dare stuff, and the graphics are fab. Good work!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Good job. The mood is really interesting.

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Those enemies looked like re-dead.

I don't know how this fits the theme, though.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

GOOOOOD game, i like the graphics so much !!! Nice job

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

Great graphics. I just found a bit hard to shoot and move :/
Faster animations would have make it much better :D
But great work ^^

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Great job !

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Great graphics and mood!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Impressive stuff! And what an atmosphere! The guy could have raised his gun faster but that's a minor complaint. Really great job!

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

I'm impressed at what you've been able to do with the visuals in such a short duration!

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

not bad :)

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Pretty good! I like the look of those green glowing swamp men!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Really nice graphical style, and the idea is interesting!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Really nice style. Surprising how difficult the monsters are to kill even though they walk so slowly!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The swampers quite often got into some kind of cult hugging and pyramid building. Made for excellent target practice and fun. I never managed any type of pest control strategy, it seemed as if shooting them only made the swamp produce more.

Never managed to light up all of the beacons, but it was fun running around in a really nicely built little world. The mini-map was really great as well.
It would have been more horrifying if the swampers were homing in a bit on the character too when they got close.

Impressive amounts of original assets made during the 48h. Nice work.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice entry, I liked the spooky atmosphere of it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Done in 48hr?
So awesome it actually blew my mind!
And in 3D!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Great atmosphere, I enjoyed your game. Lots done here in 48 hrs.

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

looks amazing and plays really well!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Reminds me of the first Alone in the Dark :D Monsters being you-in-green is some kind of allegory? : )

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great 3D graphic and cool shoting system.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

cool atmosphere.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Creepy! Loved the RE4 shooting mechanics (not being able to move while aiming LOL) hahaha! ;P

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Reminded me of my old ps1 days, I liked it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

One of the most impressive entries I've played so far. I can't believe that it has been made in less than 2 days. Graphics and gameplay are great. You did an amazing job !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

So what is in the swamp? For some reason I'm reminded of Repo man, the film. Are there some glowey green things in that? Amazing game for 48 hours! I especially liked the sounds.

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Wow, amazing graphics

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Creepy and nice :)

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice consistent aesthetic and sound design!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Bit unconventional with the controls, but the manual aiming felt novel. Unique atmosphere!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

He whispered in my ear "This is my swamp"

Hahahahaha Awesome game :D

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

great look and feel, great atmosphere. good job.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Pretty intense! Really love the atmosphere

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Somehow it instantly got me thinking about Jaws from Golden Eye, the old n64 James Bond game! Unfortunately quite lacking in gameplay imo:(

Ithildin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I like how the audio creates a spooky mood. Well done!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Cool idea, and nice graphics, especially the.. creatures. Controls left something to be desired though. Keep it up!

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

I like the art style a lot, but the controls were a bit odd.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

Great atmosphere!

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Looks very good, as previously mentioned, reminds me of Alone in the Dark. Howerver the swamp layout could be better.

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

This is very impressive!
I would love to see a more improved version of this in the future

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Loved this - very fun. I liked the aesthetic, and particularly that it was interesting without being overly dare.

Are there victory conditions?

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

Don't know if it was intentional, or by accident due to time, but the blocky look of the graphics really fit this gaame. Aiming is pretty good throughout, and overall pretty fun. Really nice job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

Awesome graphics, feel like Alone in the dark ! Nice gun fire implementation, it's really nice that it "auto-aim" for us. Very impressive and solid game. Best game I've seen of this LD

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43am

Not too shabby, aside from the controls being incredibly rigid. I found the game to be fun. With a bit of tweaking to the controls I could see this being a whole lot better and yay zombies XD very beneath the surface :P

whendricso says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Game wouldn't start - no rating

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

I loved the graphics style! Really cool tv fuzz effect on the enemies. I really like the enemy death animation. The trees also looked really cool and really added a lot to the look of the game.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

I didn't really like the gameplay, but love the sounds and atmosphere. It looks absolutely amazing for a 48 hour work!

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

Nice ambiance. Remind me "Alone in the dark".

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

This was really really cool! Although the controls were a bit odd at first, I worked well. You guys should check out WaterHazard by Hemuuuli, they had a bit of a similar thing going.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

Great. Add some polishing and it will be a good game. :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

One of the best looking 3D entries ive seen so far. Very nicely animated, very moody.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Not bad at all! The controls were a bit slow to operate though, which made it a bit harder to enjoy.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Too fast outta ammo. Nice game, good Job

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Reminds me of the first alone in the dark :)

Nice art and good ambiance, you can tell a lot of work went into this one

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

great gfx and atmosphere man.. really good job :)

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The controls are strange but the graphics are awesome. The sound its a bit weird, but in overall, the game passes, good job!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

This is a nice one. Rated.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Really nice concept, the ambiance is really well put and overall its super polished.
But the controls? I dont understand why O and P, it makes me watch the keyboard everytime I want to shoot and complicates unnecessarily the gameplay.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Really cool, graphics and mood were just right. Controls were a bit clunky, but kinda gave it that old school gaming feel, before the likes of analog sticks lol,

Brick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

This game was great, I loved the shooting style and I really hope you'll expand on this in the future. I wish the whole thing was a little more fast-paced and challenging, though.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Very interesting. I see you used some different kind of setting, I guess you get that movement in games should be controlled with the left hand! The only thing in the controls that bugged me was the "Shift" to sprint. Otherwise, pretty nice game! :)

recursor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

The firing controls felt a bit too sluggish for my tastes, but otherwise it was pretty fun.

nonentheless says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:11pm

HAHAHA, first thing I thought was "Alone in the Dark" and I see I'm not the only one :) Sweet entry!

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Great mood! Reminded me of the original Resident Evil.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:13am

Amazing universe inside of pockets of wet jeans left alone in the washer for a few days. Very loud in the way of an injury that you are checking to see if it is still there, satisfying to feel Terrible Sound entreat you to Don't Do That. Death in swamp was best. Green static men surprised me once and I wish it happened more often. Aiming felt WONDERFUL.

May 18, 2014 @ 12:37pm

The link seems to be down?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]