Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

async

by remmy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

a little contrast story :)

it has not too much content since i needed a lot of time for the engine, it was my first time with a canvas~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Innovation4.00
#459Theme3.37
#470Overall3.26
#508Fun3.07
#530Mood3.00
#654Graphics3.00
#729Humor2.20
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

Aske says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Love he graphics style and the mechanics. Good game :)

smikulcik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Cool idea! Hard to control. Great enging

legendpaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Very good! I enjoyed playing this one

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

The premise works but I think this would be significantly more enjoyable if the controls were much less slippery.

Nnoel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Cool idea, the execution could've been better. It's pretty hard to control the guy.

matheod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Oh god this is so disturbing to focus on one side and jumping in the air :D

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Excellent concept! The physics maybe make it a little too difficult - personally I'd prefer a little more jump height and a little less sliding around.

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Hard... fun... Jumping at the right moments isn't enough, speed is also needed. Very good implementation of the theme.

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

The forward momentum makes landing really tough, but I love how you had checkpoints on platforms midway through. In the very beginning I didn't realize the ground would kill me, perhaps some visuals there might help convey ground = death.

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31pm

What a great idea for a game. Really grabbed my attention, and the graphical style totally worked.

I found it to be too hard, though. I feel weird saying that, as my own game is very hard and I like hard games, but I suppose what got me here was that the difficulty came from the momentum of the character. Instead of using a tightly-controller character to solve a difficult challenge, I was fighting against the looseness of the control. Maybe I'm just being a wimp, though.

Still a strong game, but I didn't get past the third level where you have to jump on the individual pixels. Got to the first checkpoint but many dozens of retries I finally gave up as frustration overwhelmed me.

Yeah... What a wimp. Nice work, but I didn't extract the full measure of fun.

remmy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:44pm

@pkenney
oh i don't think you're a wimp, it's kinda my fault :P

@all
as i got to creating levels i didn't have much time and thought i'd make the few levels i had a bit harder.
now i noticed that this was a bad decision, because these "harder" levels lead to more frustration while playing the game (especially that one spot in the grin-level that pkenney mentioned-it also took me many attempts every time, because you needed more luck than skill).

i also should've been going for a better order of the levels since some of the latter levels were a lot easier than the first ones.

i think the thing about "the difficulty came from the momentum of the character" was kinda unintended in the first place but then left in because i liked how it turned out. if you're on rolls you can't yump too precise and directly on one spot, so even if you know how to beat the level you had to get control over your own character.

but i get why that - in combination with the level design lead to more frustration while playing the game and the feedback i got really helped me here.

so thanks to all of you for your feedback <3
this was my first LD entry as well as my first "real" game - i never made something similar before and it was awesome to make. i learned a lot about level design, game mechanics, physics (in games) and coding under time pressure*.


(*eventhough i did that before in the (awesome) 0hgamejam, but it was on a completely different scale in 1(or zero) hours you do a lot of stuff different than in 2 days.
the game i produced there was more of a fast-clicking thing, so it was codewise completely different (and i don't really count it as an actual game))

CeriseGhost says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:14am

I really enjoyed the concept of this game! There was one part I got stuck @ but I still had a lot of fun playing this.

Chris Mondok says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Pretty neat, and congrats on your first canvas project. I think the player has way too much momentum, though.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Nice concept! It's a lot of fun and to the point. Some of the levels are bit too difficult, though (there are WAY too many single-pixel floors), but that wouldn't have been a problem had it not been for the rather out-of-place slipperiness. Keeping everything slippery made things much harder than they had to be, and the levels were inventive & tricky enough to not need that extra layer of challenge. That didn't stop the game from being a lot of fun, though. Good work!

micahcowan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Contrast wasn't the theme, of course; it was the most downvoted theme. But then, I suppose it also manages to kind of meet the Beneath the Surface theme, too (if the dividing line is "the surface"?), so I guess you managed to meet both the winning AND losing themes?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]