Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ocean Explorer

by MintArcade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very simple game where you exploring ocean floor, fighting pollution and researching a strange swimming objects. Game have autosave feature, so you can continue any time. Many other not finished things like missing (or not at all) textures and UV mapping, sounds and key rebinding are here due time limit, so please be patient.

System requirements - if you can play Skyrim/GTA-5, you are OK (probably).
Web version (slow download) is provided with official ShiVa3D web player

[Controls]
Movement - WASD/Arrow keys
Q/Insert - Up
Z/Delete - Down
Space - Beam

[Big issue]
If gameplay is SLOW and waves appears to be WHITE - unfortunately your PC or graphic card is not powerful enough. Try to tweak RenderLevel, AALevel, PostRELevel and ShadowLevel in S3DClient.cfg config file.

[Known Bugs]
- Outside Camera mode only when your vessel above surface
- Particles clipping through vessel body
- Lightning issues on slower GPU (Setup file included).

[Links]
Trailer: http://youtu.be/ll4VJ67S62Y
And this is time lapse of how I did it. http://youtu.be/Dl144e-yWQw
My son's LP: http://youtu.be/9yjxwUAm8UY
Post compo version will be available here: http://www.indiedb.com/games/ocean-explorer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#190Graphics3.81
#391Audio3.02
#406Mood3.16
#490Theme3.34
#505Innovation3.13
#586Overall3.16
#763Humor2.16
#818Fun2.73

Comments

shotiris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

Very nicely done :) Could be the start of a great exploration game!

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Unfortunately ran like butts on my PC, which is obviously not your fault. Won't be rating, just wanted you to know I'd at least attempted it. :)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I see. Probably graphic is to extreme. There is file called S3DClient.cfg set parameters: RenderLevel=1 (fast) and AALevel=0 (less nice) to make it faster. Didn't have time to implement this menu ;>

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice art! Good job

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Either I haven't figured out the controls, or the ship moves so slowly that I couldn't tell that it mas moving. I will try again later on my more powerful home PC.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Ship ( bathyscaphe ) is actually slow. If I to improve this game, I'll do some bonuses like speed boost, sonic cam etc. Thanks for playing.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice theme using, the inside subjective view of the bathyscaphe is a very nice idea. Damnit the abyss are scary !

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice graphics, I like the use of bordering to be able to see profiles of far-off shapes.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Struggled with the controls, but with the toon shading and water reflections the graphics are amazing considering the time limit.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

This is amazing considering the 48 hour time limit! The sense of exploration is really good

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Amazing graphics. Very impressive.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice play on the theme, also liked the graphics! Well done! :)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

This is beautiful! Je suis Jacques Cousteau!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

loved the stylized graphics. the gameplay was a bit on the slow-side for my tastes.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Great effort for 48hrs! Game was very slow to start up / my sub was hardly moving - probably true to life accurate but made the pace of the game slow.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Great graphics ! Nice exploration game !

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Impressive graphics. Controlling the bathysphere felt really nice too :)

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nicely done!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Really liked the atmosphere in this game. Kind of peaceful. The first time a fish clipped through the ship scared me a little, though. =)

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

This is great! It's fun to explore and I love the cellshading!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Wow, absolutely beautiful, especially above the surface! Really impressive how you made a world that seemed so big in just 48 hours.

Even with the task list, I felt unsure about where to go, and wasn't crazy about the 'home key/end key' for controls.

Really beautiful work though, if the world had some variety, I'd cruise around without any objectives at all. Keep it up!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Considering the time limit I'm impressed. The atmosphere is really cool with the in-cockpit view, sort of claustrophobic but also serene at the same time. I like the cel-shaded style too.

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Good job! Amazing how you made this in 48 hours!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37am

That's an impressive cockpit - would work well on the Oculus Rift. I didn't hear sound - maybe there was none - if so, I think even some minimal sound would have really helped the atmosphere. I quite enjoy these slow paced exploration games, however I still ended up feeling like the craft could have moved forward faster, or had a 'boost' for short bursts of speed. It may not be realistic, but I guess it depends on style of game you are aiming for (more casual fun, or a simulator for purists). The sonar as a pickup bonus is a good idea too.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41am

Thank's all for great comments. I've worked hard for you to enjoy. There is sounds in the game BTW, but only engine sound, bubbles and very quite background music. May be volume levels is to low by default - that something to be done in future releases.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56am

you need to make it so it doesn't display the mouse, it's kinda annoying having my pointer in the middle of the screen while playing. Other wise this could be a good game with some tweaks.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Very good first impression, and awesome graphics. As others said, it can be the seed of a great exploration game, nice job!

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Game just opened and crashed every time. It looked good though, too bad i can't play it :/

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51pm

interested in seeing a post compo version of this :)

May 1, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Nice exploration aspect, but controls were a little awkward at times (especially when switching between surfaced and submerged). Very nice environment, great job with the fish.

Suyo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:01pm

As I've said on the stream, I love the mood and the look - but my biggest problem was actually finding something to do. All environments look the same, especially when underwater, so you never know whether you are currently exploring a new area, or the glow in the distance which you're driving towards (very slowly) is just the delivery platform again.
It also had a lot of things which were left unexplained - I couldn't figure out how to close valves, had no idea how to interact with the plasma blobs, and didn't even notice the O2 gauge until halfway through the game. Still haven't figured out what the right gauge is.
A little more guidance at the start and varying underwater looks would be great, but the audio and look create a relaxing experience which I still enjoyed. I'll just most likely never find all the barrels.

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Thanks Suyo for in depth explanation. I'll consider your (and most other people) requests for bugfix and later releases.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Really sweet graphics and cool game. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:56pm

This was a really cool game! I found the finer controls a bit difficult for moving barrels and turning valves (i got stuck on things). Great feel and atmosphere though, and impressive graphics and audio. Nice work! :)

soy_yuma says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Cool graphics! And cool exploration game! Grats!

Mekuri says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:12am

A big world, in such a short time. I liked the graphics, and the idea is great. The sub was well designed and I liked how buttons and levers responded to input. Good job!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Awesome game and especially done in 48 hours!

PS: I love your kid video! I just became a father and you must be proud of your son playing your game^^

May 4, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The gfx are AMAZING!!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really nice cell shading, exploring the ocean is really relaxing. Impressive work for 48hrs!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:36am

Looks beautiful, and initially seemed like something I'd like, but it felt really slow/boring to me. I was able to track down one barrel and one valve before I lost interest. Just wasn't my type of game, apparently.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Like it

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]