Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Mining Facility Mk3

by Roman Kornev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the Ice Mining Facility Mk3.

Humanity is abandoning the planet.
And they want to take all the ice with them.
So they need YOU to be the head of this operation.
Your next task is Iceberg #4381.
As you may know 90% of icebergs volume is underwater.
Our scanning shows approximately 99.48% of pure ice.
You have to build mining machines to harvest the ice. Remember to build those solar panels to supply power.Clicking on a miner results in a temporary increase in it's efficiency. You can also upgrade the existing miners and solar panels if you ran out of space. When your storage gets full, you have to send it directly into orbit using our quantum transportation relay. In reward you get more funds and storage to continue the operation.
Good luck!

Tools used:
- Unity 4.3 (For 90% of work)
- Photoshop (For 2D graphics)
- Blender (For 3D graphics)
- Visual Studio 2013 Pro (For coding and wiki)
- Notepad++ (For text files)
- Evernote (For notes and stuff...)
- as3sfxr (For sounds)
- abundant-music.com (For procedural music generation)
- TiMidity++ (For music conversion)
- Audacity (For music editing)

UPD: Added a POST-COMPO version with some minor bug-fixes, gameplay changes and nice parallax effect. Stay tuned for future updates.

UPD2: POST-COMPO version has been updated! It has completely new mechanics as well as a win state and a fail state. I might add some more features, I'm not sure.

The original game is still playable.

Roman Kornev
@RomanKDev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#251Graphics3.67
#484Audio2.88
#586Overall3.16
#699Innovation2.87
#707Mood2.83
#707Theme3.09
#873Fun2.65
#887Humor1.97

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

Love the graphics! I think it could be a great game if you add more types of modules and levels system.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

I'm kinda missing the goal in this game, i guess just getting as much ice/second as possible. I do like the music :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Simple but very cool! Add more modules and it will be a even greater game!

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Yeah I'm not sure if there is an end game. Great concept, well done.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

It's nice in overall, but there is lack of any challenge, or maybe I'm just missing a goal. It's very satisfying how everything works though :) Good job.

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Is there an end? Or does it continue forever? I've collected an massive amount, but... what's next, no winning? It looks really neat and plays like a charm otherwise!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

This is strangely addictive :) Nice!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

If there were more reason to be doing it (objectives/ acheivements) I might have been sitting there for hours. Very pretty.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Great game, I only missed a goal. But loved the graphics and concept. Really addictive!

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Is it endless ? Because I just spent 30min to upgrade everything and it still continued ! ^^
Anyway nice game, maybe a fix on the upgrade hitboxes for the solar panels could be nice :)

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

very cool! although the game needs an instructions

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very fun game. I do feel like a time limit or ice quota would have helped things.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Lovely aesthetic. Bit curious about the 'goal' here. Really polished feel. Well done!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Would definitely benefit from an objective, but I like the direction this is taking. Cool work ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

Great game! I loved the graphics and the overall idea. Good Work :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Great looks and such, but the gameplay lacks something... As it is, there's very little challenge.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Really well done but I wonder if there's any goal or it's just about infinite money making (which is not a bad thing in itself!!)

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Too bad there aren't goal/quotas to reach, and more things to build. It's really nice to play, a solid base if you want to expand the game further!

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice artwork, but like previous commenters, lacking in any challenge. Maybe add a timer or quota to meet in the corner or other hazard.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Looks great. Love the concept but could use some more stuff to build and there is not a real fail or winstate at the moment.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

I became a billionaire ice tycoon.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Needs something more, I got up to mining 2billion Ice/sec.

It would be nice if the mining changed the balance of the iceberg so it rolls. Miners keep mining but solar panels would suffer and need to be replaced.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting concept and like the way the player has to control what's below and above the surface.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Very good base, but some limits and goals wouldve been great. There is no real point in building many miners/solar panels, as you can just upgrade them infinitely.

Still, had fun with it.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Loved the game. Would have been nice with some kind of opposition. The idea is nice, and I can see it go far if it were expanded upon. I liked the graphics, and the game felt quite polished. Good job.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Very good game. The graphics are fantastic!!!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

UPD2: POST-COMPO version has been updated! It has completely new mechanics as well as a win state and a fail state. I might add some more features, I'm not sure.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Hi. Had trouble getting out of upgrade mode to transmit ice... Interesting idea, I like resource management games. WD !

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Hi... trying again - left comment but no score!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Great graphics, fantastic game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

May 7, 2014 @ 9:20am

Excellent work! Love the visuals and the idea. Playing stuff on that iceberg is fun, and the beam is an awesoem touch :D

recursor says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I didn't care for the procedurally generated music, but I like the game play and agree with others that adding more modules and a goal would make it even better.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]