Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

tower of atlas: reach for the surface

by mouse25 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

first compo i did and i sure liked it hope you all like the game i put together. (removed the web and putted a link to the windows build)

Your goal is to scale the tower of atlas.
you “the great capsule, capsule the great” where tricked in to killing a god and succeeded. For this the gods did not act merciful and banished you to the underworld, beneath the surface.
you grieved for what you did and knew you had to set things straight.
determined to set things right you start climbing the tower of atlas back to the surface of the earth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#680Fun2.88
#878Mood2.63
#1046Innovation2.38
#1060Overall2.63
#1112Theme2.33
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I am not sure how to run it. Clicking the "Web" link, gives me a couple of files in a Dropbox share?

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The design is solid, although by the time I got to a wall jump I'd forgotten the key. Some sound effects would go along way.

Also, the web link is taking me to a dropbox folder instead of the game. You want to copy a public link from the html file and use that instead (and change https:// to http://).

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25pm

i'm just getting the dropbox shared folder ui - i dl'd the html, but unity wouldn't load - i'm hosting my entry from dropbox too, and had a similar problem - have you tried putting it in the public folder?

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I can run it if I download the .html file and the .unit file to the same folder, and then open the html file with my browser. However, there should be a way for dropbox to share an html file as a link instead of as a file that would be easier to use.

mouse25 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

okay yeah clearly i didn't properly understand how to to upload, well i removed the web and you can now download the build for windows and the source

angelk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:15am

I like 3D platforming, and I appreciate the backstory. The environment was very static and as was mentioned in the above comments, could use some effects. Some simple sfx and background music would also help make the world feel more alive.

guimonpa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice game, I would have liked some way to change the sensitivity though, it was way too high for my liking and made the game a lot more difficult.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33pm

This game was pretty fun, although pretty hard. Even with no sound, the atmosphere was conveyed well with the monolithic structure and sky. I think some textures would make orienting ones self a little easier. Sometimes it was hard to tell if I was moving up or down relative to the other platforms or the tower, since the shading was solid and some parts had no lighting break up. Good work :)

May 4, 2014 @ 10:10am

The game need more various obstacles, since it'll got boring when you repeat the almost same thing over and over again. Still, nice game. :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:24am

I feel generally 3D First Person platformer games are not very easy to play. Looking at things through screen is as if you look at things with one eye, which makes it hard to measure the distance.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]