Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mindwash

by Karmalis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Mindwash. You are beneath the surface, but you cannot tell if it's your own mind, beneath the earth, below the sea, under the fires or out of the midst of air. Your are the Mindwashed and they are the Mindwashed. Find a way to the endgame. It will be your salvation and become one of the Mindwashed."

This is a rather simple game. You will be getting multiple waves of "The Mindwashed" to survive.

Controls:
- W : Forward
- S : Back
- A : Strafe Left
- D : Strafe Right
- R : Reload
- 1, 2, 3 : Change weapons
- Left Mouse click : Fire
- Mouse movement : Change view direction
- F1 : Basic instructions

This is my first Ludum Dare entry and to be honest my first actual game (apart from a game engine I'm working on for learning purposes) made during a rather intensive weekend (family and personal errands), so expect bugs, unfinished bits and lack of quality texturing and polish and please be gentle.
I hope you get at least a few minutes of enjoyment from this, but again, it's a fairly simple concept with simple result and I believe that there will be more projects almost identical to mine.

Bugs and downfalls to expect:
- Sometime parts of the mindwashed fly off with hilarity
- Player can go through walls / obstacles (doesn't affect brainwashed as they do actually avoid those)

Done with: Unity (Pro trial)
3D Modelling: 3D Studio MAX
Textures: Photoshop
Sound: from http://www.freesound.org/

Credits:
- Unity: pathfinding AstarPathfindingProject http://arongranberg.com/astar/

I wish you all a clean, clear mind and good luck ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#505Mood3.04
#586Audio2.72
#852Graphics2.69
#904Theme2.81
#951Humor1.87
#991Fun2.48
#1094Overall2.57
#1201Innovation2.00

Comments

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Those shadows really gives it a nice mood. Though i had some troubles with the controls.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

I like the lighting, and shooting stuff is always a ...blast. I should sleep soon.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

Thanks. One of the points was to make the controls slightly difficult to increase the overall difficulty. What the game lacks in complexity I've tried to bring through other means. Theme, mindset and mood included. :)

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

A solid run around and shoot stuff game. Starting in the only lite area of the level and eventually getting forced out by monsters was a fun experience. Congrats on finishing your first game and I dont think there will be too many games like this in the ludum dare, the most popular game type will probably be drilling for treasure.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

Controls are not very intuitive and frustrated me at times but enjoyed the lighting and mood that has been set. The gun shot felt good to fire, would be cool when you fired the gun, it would create a flash of light.

Enjoyed it.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

Shadows were a nice touch. Surprisingly fun, this one. Good job! :)

frankbsad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

the controls are a bit weird. Not bad though.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56am

Yeah, come to think of it, maybe I should have kept the movement directions relative to the world, not the character orientation, but again, one of the main ideas was to make it harder. Well, live and learn. Thanks guys.

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30am

Great game. Just wish i didn't suck at it lol

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17am

I really loved the mood! Nice game!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Have to agree about controls, but the mood and atmosphere is great. Also, congratulations on your first LD!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36am

Very atmospheric with the lighting and audio. and a satisfying shooting sound. it was a bit too dark to see whatr i was doing though. and i would have preferred to be able to kill the enemies with one shot to start with. good foundation for a nice game though!

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38am

Controls are a little bit annoying but as you said, it does add to the difficulty. Sounds are kinda cool. Nice game!

longshorts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice and creepy environment, something I wanted to do in my game but failed due to not having lighting effects. Good audio too, well done!

Karmalis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Thanks again guys, appreciate the support and voting :)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:23pm

There doesn't seem to be a way to exit from the game once you die short of refreshing. Also, you can still fire even when dead.

Karmalis says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Yeah, completely agree. Pretty much an oversight and lack of time from myself.

Turkey says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:14pm

you should fix the game to where we cant keep gaining points after we die

Karmalis says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:24am

Good point, I'll do that

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]