Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tron LD29

by morcosan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So ... my first time in this competition (of which btw i found out 1 day before it started :P )

Game idea:
--------------------
The idea comes obviously from the Tron movie 2010 XD


As for LD29 theme:
-------------------------
The top gris is considered the surface.
There are 2 other grids beneath the surface, the blue one is good, the red one will kill ya.
There are holes in the surface so and 2 ramps to reach the 2nd grid.



Gameplay:
-------------------
Do your best to survive and destroy as many bots as possible in the time frame.
The bots use the most stupid AI possible.
The question is how many of them can you destroy before the time expires.


4 possible ways to die:
-------------------------
1) hit the blue walls
2) hit your own light barrier
3) hit the enemy light barrier
4) fall down and hit the red grid


Controls:
------------------------
W/arrow up = accelerate
S/arrow down = deccelerate
A/arrow left = turn left
D/arrow right = turn right
ESC = exit the game (uselefull if in fullscreen)
\ = reset score


Game Ending:
---------------------
The game ends when you die, or when the time expires.
If you die, the game will close itself.
If you win, the game runs till you close it.



Oh well, have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#866Audio2.10
#874Graphics2.66
#942Humor1.88
#948Mood2.54
#1019Fun2.44
#1161Overall2.44
#1211Innovation1.97
#1239Theme1.81

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I liked the idea and the graphics. Had some fun with it, however the music is a bit irritating :/ Other than that, nice game.

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

No linux support :(, I'd really love to play it

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

two layered tron, C'mon man.

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

@b222ster did you try Wine to run Windows on Linux ?
or it doesn't work with wine ?
or try a virtual machine for windows
but if you know how to port from unity to linux tell me :)


@FileCorrupted
what's wrong with 2 layers tron :P ?
initially i wanted that when you go the second layer to go upside down (including camera), but i couldn't find any way to use the physics that way :(

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

@Marcus_siactro
glad you liked it :)
as for the music, that was my best try :))
i don't even know how to make an explosion sound :P

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53pm

The enemies are destroying themselfes all the time XD.
But 3D, that's impressive.

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

@Agreon
it would have taken me a whole day only to make a not-so-stupid AI for bots :P
but i wanted the 48 competition
at the end, i was quite impressed that sometimes, the bot can make you believe he actually knows what he is doing :))

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Tron! :D

psychopsam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Well done dude! You've taken the theme and improved on the standard tron game that most people make by making it like the new movie. Very impressive. Keep adding to this. I love it.

Morco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

@psychopsam
tnx for support :)
i'm actually planning to evolve to the new technology other old games :)

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

gostei. interessante a dinamica. já pensou em fazer multiplayer?

tem como exportar projeto do unity pra linux eu já tentei e funcionou

Morco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:35pm

@frickajr

tnx :)
maybe i will do multiplayer other time, or maybe for the next LD30 :P

Chinchilla says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Pretty nice visuals, music needs to be a bit simpler - maybe just arpeggios rather than random notes. Also AI that isn't suicidal would be cool :)

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Not a bad implementation of a classic idea, though for future entries I would suggest straying further into unique material.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]