Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Minecart Rollercoaster

by Bronaldplo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey
This is my first LD game: Minecart Rollercoaster!

To move around in your minecart, use arrow keys
To Jump, use Z
To tip over your minecart, use X

Have fun riding around these abandoned mine shafts and try to ride as long as possible and dodge all the obstacles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#384Graphics3.42
#441Humor2.59
#659Theme3.15
#687Mood2.86
#873Fun2.65
#899Innovation2.60
#980Overall2.73
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08am

Nice little game!

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

I really like the idea, but this game needs little polish :D (btw, i have little tip for you, turn off antialiasing in your font) Anyway... Nice little game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Kind of hard to control the jumping. LOVE the pixel art!

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

Heh, are you meant to get stuck on the ceiling for a moment if you jump from the top row? A good time anyway.

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

Nice :)

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22am

Pretty cute game... though I managed to get a game over AND survive hopping to the next cart - was rather cute to push my cart around curiously while the game said it was over. Good game overall. Welcome to LD!

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23am

Nice concept. The big thing I miss is a replay button to instantly jump back in there

elmoGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

The missing restart button really ruins it for me

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

Congrats on finishing!

At first glance the graphics are really cool, but you might have gone a bit overboard with the stretched pixely style. The camera is also a bit too close to the player, so anticipating jumps is really hard. Kudos on the animation though, I really like how the character tips over the minecart.

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

Please, take the following as constructive criticism, because you have a good idea, but a poor execution, and you could easily improve it with a bit of effort.
The graphics are very good, but the gameplay is boring because there are very few obstacles, I don't like having to close the game to start again, and the game don't ends: there's a point where everything you can do is seeing your cart move in a empty rail, without obstacles of any type, until you close the game.
It gives the impression that you spend a lot of time in the graphics and you forgot that you were doing a game.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Congrats on your first LD entry!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:27pm

awww, too bad there's no mac version. really looks ineresting but I can't play unfortunately...

Newt_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice little game. Really great graphics! It could have done with some audio, though...

Blokatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Well, there are some things you should fix...
1) The game likes to throw random error messages at me. That's not a good sign.
2) The font is hard to read - make your own bitmap font or don't use interpolation.
3) Using small resolution for these types of games is not really a good idea because you need to see what's in front of you. Go with 16:9 next time you make a game, trust me.

Anyway, the gameplay seemed quite solid, the graphics were good (especially animations).
You did a pretty well job, it just needs a little polishing and it'll be great.

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Pretty fun once I figured out how not to kill myself 50 times. The jumping out of the cart mechanic was initially really confusing! Never found a use for the cart tilt move.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]