Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Miner

by tuxxilla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the result of my first Ludum Dare.

It's a game about diamonds, mining and things hidden beneath the surface.

I had great fun during the last two days and am looking forward for the next LudumDare :)

How to play:

* Use left, right to move
* Use space to jump
* Hold left, right, down to digg
* Press "R" to restart if you get stuck
* Go to princess to accept quest
* Collect all diamonds and return them to the princess
* Mind your digging as you cannot jump very high

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#260Humor2.96
#286Theme3.58
#754Overall2.97
#792Audio2.28
#941Graphics2.56
#942Fun2.56
#963Mood2.52
#995Innovation2.46

Comments

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

Development Timelapse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKk9yvQfSCw

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Haha very funny :) I need the Diamonds for a Shool :) like it!

Torri Y says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Keyboard input dosen't seem to work

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Good job for, especially a first ludum dare :D It's great to add a timelapse :)

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@Torri: I once had this issue too when starting in WebPlayer. Restarting helped in my case...

Rose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

This game played much differently than I expected. It's actually a pretty tricky puzzle! I had to restart a lot when I got stuck because of mis-planning or because of digging a square that I didn't mean to dig, but I kept trying again until I got it. Very interesting idea.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Simple game, somewhat fun to play around with, just wish the control system was a little more precise, but nice job!

Torri Y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Now that keyboard works, It is pretty cool

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I really wanted to like this game, what with it's neat humor and good application of the theme, not to mention it's smooth controls, but the lack of music, repetitive and unoriginal gameplay, brokenness of the level design (seriously, I got stuck at least 7 times) hold this game from being a great game.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

That was actually a much more clever and puzzly mechanic than I had expected. I had a bit trouble with the controls, especially jumping around.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Like the puzzle aspect, but digging is way too slow. I'd suggest completely removing the delay, it would help game play a lot.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nice tiny game. I do like that you can't dig mindless and always have a thought about coming back to the surface. And a very smooth credits scroller :D
Good job!

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Great entry for a first go at Ludum Dare. Clean, good quality graphics. Requires so thorough forward thinking when playing too. Well done!!

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Cool game, nice particles. A bit short though.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:28pm

The movements aren't perfect but the gameplay is here and it's great ! nice entry !

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:26pm

The gameplay concept is deceptively simple and the puzzle mechanics are very clever.
The graphics and sfx are simple and functional, but don't stand out much.
The controls work most of the time, although I did find myself occasionally mining a block I didn't want mined.
The gameplay is key here, it's interesting and uses the theme well.

mactinite says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The difficulty in this really caught me off guard! Nice job!

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Pretty fun. I thought the sound effects were great. It would have been nice to know from the beginning that I have to get back out of the hole I dug, but that's a minor complaint.

Scam says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Getting diamonds is easy but digging in a way that you can return to surface is hard! Loved the quotes from princess. :)

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare. You completed a finished game! I actually messed up a few times in digging my tunnels so it was cool that you had to think a little bit about how to excavate while leaving room for your vertical jump to get back out.

misterwalter says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:52pm

The constraints on the miner made this much more of a challenge than I thought it would be. I actually dug down and collected all the diamonds right away, and only then realized the implications of my jump height.
The princess was obvious, but in a funny way. Well done and welcome to the party.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]