Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blockz

by JoshRespawns - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I am a 14 year old coder and have recently started making games here is my new game called Blockz it is a block destroying game and is still in alpha

This game was created in Pascal and was coded with very basic code please comment fairly!


This game includes:

>Block that can be destroyed!
>Animations!
>A grassed area with trees and flowers and a desert with cactus!
>Day and Night Cycle!
>Rain!
>Settings!
>Movable character!

Please try it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#879Graphics2.65
#899Mood2.60
#1127Theme2.30
#1186Innovation2.05
#1210Overall2.29
#1218Fun1.89
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

JoshRespawns says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Sorry about picture uploaded small but came out big :0

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Well done, love the weather system. Nice to know I'm not the only kid around here!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Great work keep it up (:

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

There is nothing in this game.

J.Barrows says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30am

The one feature that needs to be added is the ability to place the blocks that you remove, then you pretty much have Minecraft Lite!

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:32am

Good job, nice graphics

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34am

I really enjoyed testing your work. I am quite impressed. I would like to see more of your stuff, please keep working on this one, you're off to a great start!

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:41am

Nice job! That is much better than I could have done at age 14 :)

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:49am

Gravity does not seem to work for me... but that is a good start nonetheless. Keep on working!

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:04pm

That is a nice block destroying game

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Good starting entry into LD, there's really not much here but that's the whole deal of LD is to learn! It's actually pretty impressive for a first game, keep at it and you'll really get some impressive stuff done one day :).

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:23pm

This entry is a bit simple don't you think? I'm not completely sure how it fits into the theme of beneath the surface, besides the fact you can kinda see underground.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:38pm

I think it's nice. I destroyed all the blocks but i'm not sure i won anyway. Maybe add a little gameplay next time but i like the idea of night and day and rain cycle.
Keep going.

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:35am

It kind of reminded me of my own game, I had no clue what to do. haha! Anyway, I didn't get to see the physics or maybe I was clicking the wrong things. When I was 14 I didn't even think of programming, keep learning and practicing you're on the right track!

euske says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Don't use your age as an excuse (I made my first game at age 9 so what?). But there's a lot of potential, so please keep trying.

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Not much to do, but it's still a game. Quite impressive compared to what I was making when I was your age.

Keep on improving and remember to have fun.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

quantumpotato says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:22am

Congrats on coding!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]