Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I'm Guilty

by pandamicro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What I want to plant beneath the surface of my game is that don't let your inertia thinking misleading you. Hope my game will surprise you !

# Browser suggest

Chrome / Firefox / Safari
And iOS safari / chrome

# Frameworks / Tools

Engine : Cocos2d-JS 3.0
Physics : Chipmunk js
IDE : WebStorm
Editor : Tiled
Hosted on Github

# Issues

If you are blocked in level 3 that the blocks don't float up, please change a browser, it will probably be solved.

For other problems, refresh can always be helpful

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#769Humor2.15
#780Fun2.76
#866Overall2.87
#928Audio1.90
#980Mood2.49
#1005Graphics2.49
#1010Innovation2.43
#1163Theme2.17

Comments

Kirito says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

Easy graphic but feel good.
Really lovely when the rect jumps up.

Wuhao says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

Very interesting concept, works great on mobile phones, although it is hard to control on mobile phone, and i seems to jump higher on mobile

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

You're indeed guilty of remaking "Thomas Was Alone" with bad physics, haha.
Too bad the text is in russian (it is, right ?) and that the game isn't related to the theme at all, it makes me feel like it wasn't done for the Ludum Dare but that you submitted it anyway.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Nicely done cute little game. Unfortunately, it crashes on my comptuer on the "spikes" level (just when I FINALLY managed to bring the blue stuff on it to go through). Will try again later. Good job.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

@Seyroth It's not really about the gameplay or appearance. I have zero artwork experience so the little rectangle was what I can think of to make my game happen. And indeed, there is no physics something beneath the surface, but I want show something more inside us, we always take thing from their appearance no ?
Sorry for the (Chinese-)English also, I'm not a native English speaker, happy that I handle it not bad, everybody understand me. With limited time, that's what I can give for best. Hope others can enjoy it.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Thanks for playing my game.

REMIND: If the blocks don't float up in the third level, please change a browser, it will probably be solved. Sorry for the bug

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Looks really nice, unfortunately it ran really slow on my computer dont know why.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Great twist. I don't know why others don't think this hits the theme. The twist is about as close to the theme as you can get. Jumping felt a little wonky sometimes, but meh 48 hours :) You've created a good experience with simple gameplay.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

COuldn't play much with 5fps, but overall looks nice

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

For browsers, I suggest Chrome, or maybe you can try it on iOS devices, it should works very well.

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48am

I don't like the visual, but the "physic" puzzles are nice. Nothing special, but for noob like me it's something I have yet to make myself.
The gameplay would be nice if it wasn't so unresponsive. I don't know where the problem lies, but the jump doesn't feel good and often there is some sort of lag.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

@laker Thanks for the feedback, I just pay more time on control next time

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Your idea works very well, nicely done!

Seppel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

The game appears to lock up when you touch spikes. This is too much like "Thomas Was Alone."

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice little platformer :) Liked the general feel and the mechanics.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23am

Nice work!!!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18am

Ah, "beneath the surface" ... very smart idea for the theme. I hope others can understand what you were going for without dismissing it as not following the theme.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52pm

@SonnyBone Thanks so much man, I'm just very satisfied to know that somebody understood !

monaarc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58pm

I don't understand what you have done, the idea is good but nothing seems to be related to the theme. Keep working, I think you can do better games next time.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I would like to see this connect in a touch device.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38am

Even though the graphics are basic the movement on the character is still nice.

TheGameFather says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:05am

Nice work! Love the way the cube guy jumps, it's so jelly :) The level design is interesting. The control also feels smooth, but if movement can be a little more faster, matching the force of the jump, would make it better. In conclusion, nice work for 48 hours!

Lancelot Gao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:57am

The blocks won't float until I jump on them, is this a bug? I've a hard time reading the texts, but I know it's English, right? The physics based level design is cool and the animation of main character is very cute. Well done!

pandamicro says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

@TheGameFather Thanks so much
@Laucelot Gao Yeah, I wrote them in the last few hours, and it was 5 am in the morning in China, so sorry it's not very comprehensive XD.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]