Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submersion

by superzac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Was almost called "Unmanned Submersible Simulator 2014", "Submersion" is a game where you control an unmanned submersible as it ventures into the depths of the ocean. The purpose? To find a ton of long-lost pirate treasure! Scattered throughout the underground oceanic caverns are 7 chests of gold, can you find them all?
The controls are rather complex, so make sure to pay special attention to the control screen when it pops up before you start playing.
Please note that colliding with walls can cause some... problems, and you may have to be a bit forceful with the controls to recover!
I used the Abundant-Music.com music generator for the soundtrack, so it is still within the rules. Sounds pretty good for a generator!
LINUX AND OSX VERSIONS ARE UNTESTED HAVE FUN :D
EDIT: 9:16PM PST, just reuploaded my webplayer because it wasn't functioning.

If webplayer doesn't work, please try refreshing! Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Theme3.67
#329Audio3.12
#393Graphics3.41
#530Mood3.00
#626Innovation2.96
#685Humor2.26
#912Overall2.81
#1019Fun2.44
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Controls are tough, but neat once you get a handle on it.

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Not a bad idea, but it's unfortunate how easy it is to get stuck on the walls / get stuck gradually rotating in some direction :(

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Impressive work in 48 hours, especially the art and soundtrack!

The controls were difficult to get started with, but after a while you get used to them.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

The reset button 'R' doesn't seem to do anything, at least on Firefox. The music is cool, nice job! :)

It would be nice to be able to press a button like 'H' to temporarily pause and review the controls. They are fiddly, more so than a normal FPS-style system, but I imagine that's on purpose.

The first time I found a treasure chest I couldn't figure out how to pick it up and just tried driving near it, but I seemed to have gotten it afterwards, so it must have worked. Is there a notification sound or indication when it happens?

Neat atmosphere. Overall the walls and controls counteract that a bit though.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

I spent the first 10 minutes just spinning around crazily!

At first I was like "eugh" but once I got the hang of it, it was pretty fun! I managed to collect 5 treasures, and then got lost. :{

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

The controls were a bit hard to get my head around, and at some point I got stuck in a spin and that became frustrating. Aside from that, I thought the map was fantastic and I had a lot of fun exploring the depths.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

Haha! The graphics, audio, and everything was really cool! The controls were a bit difficult though, I forgot everything when I pressed play!

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Well, those controls certainly took me for a ride. I do love me some underwater exploration, though :)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

Menu is really nice :) Haven't got a patience to look for chests... Would help if sub were to auto level-off (i.e. keep horizon)

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

Like others said, hard to control at first - once you get turned the wrong way it's really hard to right yourself. Gets easier with a little practice.

Really like the visual style, you got the underwater look down pretty well.

Calming music. Sounds great!

Managed to get 1 treasure. You must have hidden the others pretty well.

cwkx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

This feels great - good job on the lighting to get that deep submerged feel.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

Took me a while to understand the controls. I was like "OMG, so many things to keep in mind". Your game is ambitious, and I like where you took it. I didn't really like the music, though.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

It's just too large for my screen.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Interesting controller that takes getting used to but had a nice underwater feel. The level looks nice, and the music is also quite good. Well done.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Controls were a little difficult to get used to initally and led to me getting stuck in the walls a few times but eventually got the hang of it. Nicely presented, the lighting felt just right for that underwater feeling.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Cool musique, controls are cool, I rolled a lot everywhere :) Ambience is nice !

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23am

Hard to operate, I always end up upside down. Nice graphics and music!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Interesting controls... but very pretty game. Nice models as well.

jsmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice work! Fun little world and good graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]