Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Ball

by BUNN1E5 - Jam Entry

Very first year actually competing!

Completely forgot about Ludum dare and put this together in a couple hours :P

So here is an unfinished game that has 2 levels.

*whisper* type "moomoo" on the title screen *whisper*

Downloads and Links




zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17am

great start on a game! I found that mashing the move keys was the best way to build up speed, though it often resulted in me launching off the edge :)

erezronen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

The game looks great, but sadly the controls are bot very intuitive, and it was very hard figure out where the ball will fall after a jump. On the other hand - you made this in just a couple of hours? *very* impressive!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11am

Nice graphics! Couldn't find the controls for a while, but very awesome work for a couple hours.

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25am

Interesting demo; it was a nice surprise that the ball could jump / change direction mid-air. Agree with @zillix re: mashing keys

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28am

Quite impressive for only a couple of hours of work! As already mentioned, the only problem i have is determining where you land after jumping. But aside from that: well done!

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28am

good start but could follow a better mood and theme. needs better are and fairer controls!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Ball movement is a bit slow but its a pretty challenging game and pretty fun too. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

It's not as easy as I thought ! Congratulations on your first LD ! Very challenging :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Nice job for a few hours, but I don't really see any correlation with the theme.

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:15am

Nice concept and level design, but could use some control tweaks. Solid entry

Blokatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Quite good graphics, but the gameplay itself feels unfinished.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]