Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The submarine engineer

by aelita1992 - Jam Entry

Yes, the project didn't come to the very end, but we worked hard and here you can see current results. We'll be finishing the project for next week or two, to add all planned features, right now the game is mostly about improving score and looking for hidden easter eggs <there are many, really>. The upgrade store is almost ready. We have some fancy graphics in our sleeves, we'll show them to you soon (outside of the contest). Hope you'll like the basic version of the game, we know there could be more gameplay included, but the time wasn't enough because of some problems.

Like, comment, give us hints and report all noticed bugs, so we can repair them immediately. We still hope, you'll enjoy our product.

Help:
The main idea of the game is to seek for the devices, that got damaged (it's easily visible by looking at them and by looking at your stat summary in the middle of the map - if you're loosing some dots, take care and look for some damaged modules)
You're an engineer's ship, you're repairing the modules by swimming over them.

Controls:
WSAD - steering
Space - repairing (repairs when over broken module), enter the shop (when over shop entrance)
Mouse - for shop interaction

---- Patch 1.1 -----
Date: 13-05-2014

- !! SHIP STATS ARE RENEWED WHILE VISITING THE SHOP !! (oxygen isn't used yet)
- REPAIRING: Use SPACE to repair broken modules while the ship is over it
- SHOP: You can use SPACE while over the shop to RESTORE YOUR SHIP's STATS and ENTER THE SHOP
- SHOP: You can buy upgrades in the shop using money earned during repairs. The upgrades make a visible difference in the ship's efficiency, so we encourage you to visit shop when only you earn some serious money
- COLLISIONS: Yellow buildings are dangerous for the ship - hit them too hard, and you'll damage the ship's hull
- remember to fix the modules as fast as it's possible, your current station's stats can be visible on a floating board, DO NOT LET THEM TO REACH 0
- the movement works a lot better, you can post your opinions about the acceleration etc, we will be changing the forces working on the ship to make the underwater feel stronger
- repairing modules will renew some of the lost station's stats

--- Closest patch will contain ---
- repair progress-bar
- animations added to the shop
- more balanced gameplay
- third ship statistic
- game stages

--- Important info ---

As for now the game is only about reaching the highest score, but we're working on the gameplay even now. We're dividing the game into stages, each stage will introduce more difficult repairs. We want to make it more difficult to manage their time, and probably implement some obstacles to make the repairs really challenging.


Game created by:
graphic artists: Magda, Kasia
programmers: Michal, Przemek

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#49Graphics(Jam)4.38
#192Theme(Jam)3.51
#338Mood(Jam)3.11
#477Humor(Jam)2.30
#513Overall(Jam)2.97
#544Audio(Jam)2.57
#620Innovation(Jam)2.45
#679Fun(Jam)2.24

Comments

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Great visuals ! :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

Great mood and the graphics, which are kinda cartoon like, is real good!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

Too bad it didn't get finished. The art looks great though :D (assuming there's no gameplay because it didn't get finished. If it there is gameplay and I really just ran into a bug, let me know)

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

Well, right now it feels a little empty, but let's see what this turns into after some more work.
I like the graphics, they're pretty polished. And the concept is pretty interesting. I miss some audio.

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

The audio will be online in no time, got into some problems with how the graphics are displayed right now, hope we'll be able to add the music in no time :)

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57am

really quite pretty!

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

We'll upload the pre-prepared audio today :) Come back to see the results, we strongly invite you all of you :)

And we're thankful for your support, hope we'll manage to implement all planned things soon, as there are many already almost ready, they need to be tested though, but there will be a gameplay even until tomorrow evening, probably :)

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38am

Not much to say except that it looks really good.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice background art, but the game does feel unfinished. Hope you can improve it with the addition of the upgrade store.

Chinchilla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:49am

Awwww maaan... this looks lovely, but couldn't work out what I was supposed to do... at some point I accrued 250 points for doing something... I think :)

Hope to see this turned into something cool in the future!

May 2, 2014 @ 3:07pm

This is a good base to begin layering a mechanic over. Try adding momentum to movement, to increase the sense of water resistance.

TeamFlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Really great visuals :)

lajos says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:46am

awesome artwork!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:01am

a shame the gameplay was not here - nice looking work - great job

aelita1992 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

The whole patch will be available till the end of this weekend, sorry for the waiting, but we've decided not to upload it until most the important gameplay will be there. Come back on Sunday if you're interested in the results :)

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:01pm

The 1.1 patch is live now! We worked hard to achieve everything we wanted in a way that it's not hardcoded, easy to develop, and we think we achieved that idead mostly. It costed us some of a progress, reworking the code take us some time, but finally the stable basic version is live. Should there be any bugs, please inform us and we'll try to fix them as fast as it's possible. The game is now about getting the biggest score, we're working on adding stages to the game, so it will be more difficult and so the current goals will be more clear.

IMPORTANT: Yes, of course, you can inform us about any content that you would like to see in the game, and we'll try to consider it in our development. The game will be further created even after the Ludum Dare, so good ideas can strongly influence the current and future development.

soy_yuma says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:56pm

It's a good idea, but I really don't like the controls. I think the ship has way too much inertia. It's also annoying that if you hit a building your ship will suddenly face the opposite direction.

On the bright side, the graphics are superb. The idea is well related to the topic. I enjoyed the little humour details like the hidden Toy Story character and the fuel bar slowly raising at the beginning (like what happens with cars?). Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:08am

love the mood, and the graphics!

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:14am

Okay we'll eliminate the unneeded after-hit rotation and will try to improve the forces, that our ship encounters :)

udo says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:01am

I loved the atmosphere and the graphics especially. You should definitely work on that post-LD version. Some visual visual and auditory feedback would be nice when you run into things, in fact all object-to-object interactions should be a little more dynamic in my opinion. Anyway, good work!

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:49am

Don't worry, we have some of the damage indicators and arrows that will inform the player about the locations of nearby damaged modules prepared, we just need some more time to add them to the game itself :) They should be available until the end of current week.

JimmyBoh says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:28am

I really like the art style and concept, although it was very difficult without indicators. The addition of those will make it much less confusing! Keep up the great work!

dertom says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:40am

Aehm...how are we supposed to vote for the jam-version when you keep updating and don't provide the original version?

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Okay we'll provide the original version then as well, soon, but we're mostly focused on gaining the comment opinion, mostly thinking on this project in the long-term. We'll find the default version and post it later

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Btw if you're interested in getting the original view right now, the changes that came with the only patch are stated in the description :) You can take a while and read about them, while we'll be trying to get the first build of the game online :)

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Okay we posted the original build so that it's clear to everyone how that one looked. I understand that not everyone has the time to read all the descriptions we provided, especially about the patch, so refer to the original build to see the final original version :)

May 19, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Interesting concept and great visuals! Good job for 72 hours!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]