Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Minor Incidents

by dartsdev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Phxgs presents Minor Incidents
A quick game of minesweeper cross motherload.
use the WASD keys to move around
Feedback - dartsdev@phxgs.com, @dartsdev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#371Audio3.04
#659Theme3.15
#1019Mood2.43
#1050Humor1.50
#1107Innovation2.24
#1140Fun2.21
#1172Overall2.41
#1220Graphics1.85
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

I realise it starts very zoomed-in to account for the radar upgrades, but might have been better to use nearest neighbour interpolation instead of bilinear/bicubic; hard-edged pixels generally look better than blurred ones at that size.

Honestly the most impressive part of the game was the music, if you actually made that during the 48 hours.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

Cool game. Found the controls a little unsmooth but overall it's a nice idea that was executed well. GOOD JOB!!! :D

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

Very polished and nice concept!

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

I thought it was going to take forever to get to 10000 to buy the radar upgrade, but then out of nowhere i struct gold and was on my way to being the best dang miner on this side of the Mississippi. I enjoyed the progression and the zooming out as a power-up.

Having to wait a long time and managing heat was an interesting mechanic that required me to make some choices. Solid game, gg good job.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

That music made the it intense. Then I died. :(

Very dramatic mood.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06am

Such a dramatic music!! Random death without radar is a bit frustrating but I love the concept and it's well put, nice job!

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I dug. Then I died. Nice entry)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

The drilling sound quickly gets annoying. Waiting so long for drilling to finish doesn't seem to serve any purpose. Overall a nice idea but too much focus on slowness and killing the player.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Graphics are a bit blurry, but a pretty good mining game nonetheless.

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:11am

First of all, you should probably remove the misleading "Web" link, on LD it is taken to mean that your game is playable without downloading it from the browser itself.

The game itself is very jumbled, without a smooth transition between squares it took me a while to realize that my actions were directly correlated with the results. Same goes with the text, it just appeared and vanished almost in sync with the complete screen changing making it very hard to perceive.

Besides these polish points the game was pretty cool, I liked the heat system and the adventure of digging down was very tangible. Hope you keep going with it!

BarkingCat says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:21pm

the movement could use some feedback: it feels jumpy. not bad tho

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]