Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Stones Back Home

by jrap - Jam Entry

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
THIS GAME WAS MADE IN 48 HOURS FOR THE COMPO, BUT AS IT
USES ROYALTY FREE MUSIC, IT HAS BEEN MOVED TO THE JAM SECTION.

Apologies for any confusion/inconvenience. The rules were
not clear on use of drums/instruments vs. full recorded
tracks.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

WASD to move
Mouse required for menus

Randomly generated cave runner with 5 levels about fleeing from your responsibilities (guess who wins)

Sound mute buttons occasionally do not work. But I compressed that nine minute banjo track myself and you better enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#77Fun(Jam)3.61
#129Audio(Jam)3.64
#149Humor(Jam)3.20
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#246Mood(Jam)3.34
#316Graphics(Jam)3.53
#482Theme(Jam)2.94
#485Innovation(Jam)2.74

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

I love the this game! The art is great and the music is very fitting. The only issues are that sometimes it hard to see at the bottom if there is a block. Other then that great game.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Fun game, enjoyable graphics. Music does not stay off between games though. (Wanted to turn it off b/c its a bit loud).

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

Great game! Simple, classic graphics with a well chosen subdued and limited palette.

I liked the music, it set a light hearted almost frantic mood.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41am

I love endless runners. Well done, too. It seemed pretty polished, but sometimes I couldn't tell if there was ground that I could stand on because the foreground image blocked it. Really fun regardless (and great soundtrack!)

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

The audio's really impressive for 48 hours, and the graphics are nicely simple.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

I pretty much kept playing for the music. :D
There were a couple of times where it seemed like I had to fall to my death though, I am not sure if I just couldnt see the blocks at the bottom or not though.
Otherwise great game with cool music and nice graphics.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36am

Very cool! The vertical zig-zag bits threw me the most. Thumbs up!

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Very nice job! I love the graphics. Sorry to hear about the music causing you to file as Jam and not Compo. The art, graphics, gameplay and style are all cohesive and complement each other.

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I really enjoyed this! It's tough to play but the music suits the game perfectly, lots of fun.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Run baby run :)
Cool game and nice music ++

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

I really liked the music and art style. I had a bit of trouble with the jump keypresses not always registering.

jrap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

I am actually awake now update:
+Upgrades now save properly between games (a true that should have been a false)
+Key presses now register a little better (HTML5's fault, not mine.
+Minor performance improvements on some machines
+Newgrounds and itch.io links added
*A windows download version may come in the future.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

This game generates me unpassable levels =(

crustforever says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27am

Fun, although I think I hit a dead end once. Cool art style.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Fun game and music, I especially liked the title screen.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice endless runner!! The art style is good and I liked the spikes in the foreground, didn't find hard blocks thus far! Well done!

jeferx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Hello, very good game, liked the pixel, like to see the source code of the game, is off :/

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

sorry about that jeferex, the 29/4 update must have broken the link. Not to worry, it works fine now.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

Pretty fun (noticed a bug(?) where you could jump above everything.
Enjoyed the music, though have no idea how it was supposed to fit together, lol.

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45am

Jumping over stuff is intentional, it gives an extra reason to get the grav and jump upgrades, and circumvents some otherwise unpassable level generations.

Artylo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

Amazing game, really cool music. Sets the mood perfectly. Overall a very solid game.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49am

One of the best games I've played so far! :) the graphics followed a theme and the game play felt intense and playable! Good Work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51am

Great game, I liked the atmosphere and music :) However I ran into a complete wall of blocks and there was no getting around(or there was one and I was to blind to see it...)

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

Nice and polished game, it's simple yet very fun. I found two minor bugs, nothing game-breaking.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Pretty cool

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice choice of music. Your level generator is a bit off; I got stuck a few times behind impassable walls.
(I made an endless runner too, if you'd like to try it.)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Very funny and the visuals are stylish.

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:44am

Great job for such a short amount of time. My main concerns are when there is a section that is impassable due to the random generation, and when the foreground covers blocks. Sometimes you can't see if there's a floor there or not.

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:47am

Nice, but the weird spikes at the top and bottom of the screen sometimes make it a bit hard to tell where the tiles are. The text on the death screen is also a bit hard to read

pansapiens says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:05am

Pretty solid runner - great choice with the banjo track. Now I feel like every (finite or endless) runner should have banjo music. It just works. Also the approaching mist of responsibilities is a great motivating effect. I found that jump didn't always seem to work for me - not sure if it was because I was touching the side of a wall, or if the key repeat on jump was set too slow. Also some of the invisible holes are a bit evil - I'd at least leave those until level 2 or 3. Also, I'd quite like to be able to continue from the start of the level after dying rather than going all the way back to level 1 (maybe in a less-hardcore-mode ?). Twitch stream here is you are curious to hear me ramble as I play: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4177965 . I probably didn't explore it enough honestly, since I never saw the upgrades.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Really stylish graphics/colour palette. I like the premise, though it felt underplayed in the game. The gameplay itself is fun and exciting, especially with the well-suited music, but I too hit a few dead-ends. Oh, and it's got a great title.

tchem says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:56am

Pretty game,,, the graphics are cool

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:00am

That was really fun! It felt like the jump failed me a few times but it was overall very fair and really challenging. Loved it :D

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:59am

Very nice vibe. I died a lot :)

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:38am

Why is there a hole in the ground so often just before the exit? Otherwise, very very nice.

Spierek says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:48am

It was quite fun, but sometimes the jumps don't register (I think it happens when you're standing on the line between two blocks) :(

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Not a bad little runner, nice visual style. Did get an unpassable level twice though!

May 6, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Cool game, got past level one :) I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Lots of fun, but if you weren't lucky enough to get a few triangles on the first leve, the second is impossible.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Funny concept, love the character !

Anoarith says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice Canabalt successor :) ! There was some mistakes : some levels may be unfinishable and I didn't understand these three screens (power-ups ? ô_o) between levels.

But a greet entry for a compo anyway :) ! Good job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]