Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Moles!

by ninjascript - Jam Entry

Dark Moles was built with PhaserJS by a team of two developers (thanks Ben!) and an awesome illustrator (thanks Jessie!). The premise is pretty simple -- whack-a-mole with bombs!

This was the first time any of us had built a game, much less in 48 hours, and it was a total blast. We'll definitely be participating in #30!

Source:
https://github.com/ninjascribble/LudumDare-29

Tools:
PhaserJS: http://phaser.io
SFXr: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
Littera: http://kvazars.com/littera

Resources:
Kenney Donation Pack: http://kenney.itch.io/kenney-donation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#297Humor(Jam)2.76
#344Theme(Jam)3.21
#401Fun(Jam)2.96
#506Innovation(Jam)2.70
#509Overall(Jam)2.98
#610Audio(Jam)2.13
#624Mood(Jam)2.55

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Those moles are evil!! Good game!

Nelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Nice!! But it's too hard at my mind) Moles must die)))

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

I'm trying to branch out from diving games. I almost made a game like this but it was going to be horrible lovecraftian worms and such bursting forth and you'd have to burn them. Then I realized that was a huge part of the terrible ALONE IN THE DARK remake from 2008 which I bought for full price. Ugh!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

I do enjoy a good mole bombing every once in a while. I couldn't figure out where the hitboxes were on those darn moles though, i'd see it explode right overtop of them, but they kept on living.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25am

Well done

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39am

I got to level 3, walked into my own bomb and got spat on... Oh well, at least I blew up some moles on the way...
Game looks great...!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

Nice graphics. If I could give an advice, you should think about mapping the arrows for moving next time, because AZERTY players also exist :)

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very, hard, couldn't pass the second level. ALso, very repetitive and not very original.
That said, for a first game it's pretty decent.

mrbungle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Come on little girl, kill those evil, green spit flinging underground dwellers! Liking the graphics.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

@pandavigoureux, sorry about that! We'll definitely include alternate control schemes in all our future games.

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Very hard, but a cool idea :) Whack-the-Mole, I have played a million times, but Bomb-The-Mole is new :)

RyotaRaven55 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:12am

Nice game! but kinda tricky.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

Nice graphics

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:28am

This gets hard really fast :P
Looks great though!

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

Nice art. The hitbox of the character is maybe too big.

Baknik says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:34am

It was a bit hard to figure out where the bomb would land, but great job overall!

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:11am

Nice graphics!

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Hey, congrats on completing your first game (this was my first LD as well)! The artwork is really good, and I especially love the mole popping in and out animation. I think it's a little frustrating to time the bomb explosion to when I thought a mole would appear. I was essentially throwing bombs at random. But you did a good job with scaling the difficulty - one mole, then several moles on one side of you, then moles all over.

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:24am

That adorable paraplegic is really vicious towards those moles!

MaesK says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice whack-a-mole! Bombs can fix everything everywhere in gaming :D

I got confused with controls, I didn't thought you can control the direction of bombs with the mouse position, so the moles defeated me easily. Now I'll make them pay.

Good work!

May 6, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Love the character-design :D

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:41am

Liked having that delay in the bomb to explode. Level 3 is really hard!

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Great concept! Nice improvement of the original whack-a-mole.
Very cool that the bomb can also kill your player and is part of the gameplay, you didn't miss that :-) And mole are firing snot! nice :-P
Graphics are sweet.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Firt level is too easy, the second one is crazy! Really nice looking game

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]