Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

We Grow

by porousnapkin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple RTS / bullet-hell thing.

Use mouse for input.

I made the project in Unity, so the source provided is just a zip of the whole Unity project.

The external tools I used were:
1. An unlit shader with alpha, posted here: http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php?title=UnlitAlpha
2. LeanTween plugin, from here: https://github.com/dentedpixel/LeanTween
3. The font Dysin4mation, from here: http://auntiepixelante.com/?p=2148

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#13Overall4.26
#14Fun4.17
#23Innovation4.25
#63Mood3.88
#179Humor3.20
#278Audio3.21
#404Graphics3.40
#719Theme3.08

Comments

Natman says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

First of all: you should probably put the title somewhere on the webpage. I found the game through your tweet, then lost it somewhere in my feed, and had to go searching for the title so I could leave you some feedback. :)

It's really impressive for 48 hours. Well done. I like the minimalist aesthetics and I'm actually curious how much are the graphics were done programmatically. Are the stairs the only actual sprite?

The writing is pretty good and there were some places where I was impressed with how the gameplay and the "story" were well integrated, such as when you introduced the green pieces.

I think at least once while playing, I had pieces tunnel through walls because of physics bugs. Not the biggest problem, though.

You did a pretty good job on the sound design, as well. Maybe some ambient music could have made it more interesting. Did you use SFXR/BFXR for the sounds?

*Spoilers* I'm not exactly sure what the ending was supposed to mean.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Thanks! I appreciate the feedback. Actually, the stairs are just a series of colored quads. I'm really terrible with art, so I tried to build a game around my limitations, so everything is stock unity shapes.

I did use BFXR for the sound. The chip / robotic nature worked well with the theme, which was a great win.

Natman says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Awesome! So my observations were mostly correct. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

This is awesome

drstik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Wow! My favourite game so far! A very polished and complete experience for being built in such a short time, although I did wish it wasn't over. Awesome job :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

This is an excellent game. You should take it all the way. Funny it's very similar to what I thought I might try to make at first which is sort of a Poseidon Adventure thing where you are "flocking" through a series of hazardous rooms. This is the best game I've rated so far. Only a couple more then I gotta dip out to pick up some take out and catch the west coast re-run of Game of Thrones!

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Very nice, reminds me of lemmings. I enjoyed the use of sound in unit generation/shooting. It was quite musical.

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

I have to say, I rather liked this game. I'm curious what all you could do with this. Do you plan on extending it?
Were those things at the end something you were planning on implementing?

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

It's great, I love the theme of the game and how well the minimalist graphic give mood to the game.

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

fun game! liked the level transitions a lot, and the ending was funny. 486 deaths

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Very nice! the zooming out and the story is well executed. There's also some clever level design in there :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

It's interesting having to manage a large number of objects as opposed to a single sprite. The level transitions were really cool. Aesthetically the minimal graphics go very well with the chippy sound effects.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Wonderful. A revolution of sorts, methinks. Far too many deaths required, though... poor blocks.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

This is excellent, you ought to be really pleased.

I found the transitions a bit jarring, especially how they contrast with everything else being low-fi. However that's a really minor gripe. Awesome mechanical idea and executed well. Be pleased :)

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

So much deaths were made. Every single dot dead has made its purpose.

The game is great! You should take it to the limit with them like something to push them around!

That ending though x3

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

Fantastic game! Wow. It's so conceptual and avant-garde. I had a lot of fun playing it. Excellent job.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

This is really great! I'm surprised at how much intuitive this game was. Love the transitions and the conquer/spawn mechanic. One of my favorites so far!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

I particularly like the soundtrack generated by the sound effects, and the ending.

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

This was a pretty fun game. The presentation and the flow between stages was very nice.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Excellent work! I really like this one.
But I don't really get the ending. Could you explain the meaning of it?

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I really appreciate it! I'm glad some people like the ending but I understand if you find it confusing. It's intended to evoke a feeling more than conclude narrative.

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Honestly this is the best game I've played from LD29 yet! Something about seeing all your little cubes get blown away as you charge the enemy had such a fantastic charm and excitement to it.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

Those baby purple squares ;_;
I cry errytime ;_;

taocayo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:13am

Woah! this really caught me off guard! Amazing concept, little bits of emergent behavior and oddly satisfying reactions to my actions as a player. The sounds match the style very well and every click felt purposeful. I personally liked how it ended, the tone and the last thing you see as the text rolls out.

Would love to see other works in the future!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:55am

this is a fantastic game - really nice gameplay and the levels were challenging but not impossible - great job

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:56pm

"A simple RTS / bullet-hell thing."
whaaat?

And yet, after finishing it, I have to admit this is a pretty accurate description.

Good job with this game, the idea is quiet unique and the realisation is great. You have a good difficulty curve, some variation in the challenges... I really think you should keep working on it

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very nice indeed. I liked the way it transitioned between levels, and it was certainly a complete experience. Great job.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice concept!

Waterman7 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Great job, really impressive! Well execution all around. Especially loved the minimalist sounds adding up to a rhythm, and the pacing in general. It felt really rewarding seeing your army slowly grow over the course of the game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]