Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

iRiS

by Kuchalu - Jam Entry

Prepare for a vision of awesomeness as the player combats exhaustion by defeating those blasted 'floaters' beneath the surface of the Iris. Musical things are... afoot in this puzzle game fun for all ages. As floaters come into the Iris' field of vision, they can be shot down (space bar) which results in progression of the background music - the ultimate aim being for the player to finish the background music loop with all tracks playing in unison. Boasting over three (count 'em!) entire pieces of music, the player is spoilt for choice as they can decide between rip roaring rock, retro or romantic styles. You can follow us on Twitter at @kuchalu. Listen to the soundtrack here: https://soundcloud.com/mattjavanshir/sets/iris Thanks for playing, tell your friends and don't forget to blink. NB: The game currently only works on 'fantastic' and full screen at the moment. Thanks! How to: Just press the space bar when the colour of your ball collides with a floater of the same colour.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#80Audio(Jam)3.81
#150Innovation(Jam)3.51
#347Graphics(Jam)3.45
#396Mood(Jam)3.02
#435Overall(Jam)3.11
#527Fun(Jam)2.70
#647Humor(Jam)1.64
#731Theme(Jam)1.91

Comments

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

How can I start playing

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Try playing in fullscreen with highest res, for some reason we couldn't fix the resolutions issues.

v3games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I'm not sure if I misunderstood when I was supposed to press space, but it seemed a little hard to score points. Had a little success with it. Great style!

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Took me a while to figure out what to do (match the colours) but it's fun, and the music is great

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Not as simple as it looks. Quite fun, but the gameplay is a little bit repetitive. Really good music and used in a nice way in the game.

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Really cool, I'm a big fan of audio and music based interaction games like this! However, the controls didn't always seem to work and thus it was hard to score which made it frustrating to play. Still great job though!

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Liked this, I love audio based games. Pretty difficult though. I think I managed to get to 6 before at the most before I ended up getting back to 0. I can see how this concept could be easily developed into a ridiculously addictive game too - if instead of random floating blobs they game at you in a pattern perhaps?

Thanks for making this. :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Looks pretty, and feels pretty nice.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Try working on your visual feedback next time! Took me some time to realize what I was doing. There also seems to be significant lag in the controls. Those two combined gave me the feeling that pressing "spacebar" wasn't doing anything at all! It thrives most in the audio part for sure.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I'm guessing your main menu is GUI-based. If so, easiest way is to scale everything to Screen.Width and Screen.Height. (For safety, I personally always use two Rect variables - a public one which contains [0..1] ratios of screen space, and a private one updated every frame to the current screen size.)

You should also only look for the closest collider when Space is pressed; sometimes two elements are hit at the same time, and it breaks the combo. Particularly harsh when after a while there's a ton of elements on-screen. (Might want to give them a limited lifetime, too.)

Overall fun game. Soundtrack is rockin'. Good job!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Thanks Lemming, We could do with all the critique and help we can!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:32am

Great audio of course. I couldn't quite figure out what was going on though. I couldn't quite figure out what was happening when I hit the droplets. But it looked nice and sounded good.

Venturelli says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Great ideas and cool mood, but at least for me it was too unresponsive and boring to play =(

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Hm, the music and the visuals are very good. But as others already said, the gameplay was weird. I think it would have made more sense to make some kind of rhythm game out of this. But these randomly moving bubbles had no connection to the music (at least for me) . But I can see potential in this one.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I really liked it! It's minimalist, hitting the floater is fun for some reason, with some speed variations and score system, this would be a great mobile game.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Took a while to figure out, but fun overall :) I love the simplicity of the graphics and the sound. well done.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:41am

great audio and nice minimalist graphics. I thinks this is a good idea! Good Job!

Therrato says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:22pm

visually very pleasing, and nice audio would recomand to make the screensize smaller though

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:58pm

nice looking game

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I love the graphics and audio comparing to most other games but I still don't understand the purpose of the game. However it's fun to hit a couple in a row without making a mistake. Great overall.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:44am

The main menu is way zoomed in and I cant find what to do to get past it, windows and fullscreen alike.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:50am

Really crazy concept, but it turned out as an interesting and novel game mechanic even under the existing flood of color matching games we have nowdays

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:40am

nice visuals!

jaxonf92 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Awesome :) would make a great mobile game

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Although it looks and sounds good, it sometimes seemed like the balls were not registering the collision correctly. Plus, I also had problems trying to tell two colors of balls apart; maybe change the form/animation to better differentiate them ?
That being said, I liked the concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]