Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground

by abcd3901 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first Ludum Dare, so I'm pretty happy whit what I did. Sorry if I made any spelling errors...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very simplistic but interesting concept, kind of confusing at first but good once it really starts.

Linkigi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I think you've really got something here. Currently the events after each day are interesting but I found I was skipping the text a lot of the time due to how often it comes up.
If you continue working on this game in the direction you are, making it a bit more lively then you could be onto a hit in my opinion.

ps. Also, I think the game could benefit from more of an objective. Nevertheless, great work given the time constraints and everything.

Linkigi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42pm

pps. Also, the 'Windows' and 'Source' download pages are the wrong way round.

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

hmmm nothing happens when I try to run it..?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Yeah, as Linkigi said, the Windows & Source are mixed up!

But a great idea, although it took me quite some time to figure out that you had to click on the little guy in order to do stuff. Also: it's quite frustrating that the last guy left can just die randomly.

Stuffie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Interesting concept, but my guys randomly went to the surface and died :(. I think if you could speed up the initial curve it would be pretty cool indeed.

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:35am

Neat concept and great mood. Felt like I was just waiting for my entire crew to be lost. Good tension with each passing day and having the short clips after each day really adds to the uniqueness of each play through. It would help to have some sort of feedback to the player to indicate when it is safe to dig or build up a base if it is not completely random. Losing that last guy kind of sucks when not given any warning.

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Solid foundation. I played for 36 days before there just really wasn't much point that I could tell. I wish I knew what the '3 vertical lines' facility did. I dug a huge ladder downward hoping to find something but never did. I had a population of 5 by the end. I wish there was more variety in the random popup events or that maybe they didn't occur each round.

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:50am

Ok, but repetitive.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]