Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DeepUnder

by SuperMsp10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD I used the theme as you are trying to go deeper, not as creative as I wanted. If you need tips there is a video of me finishing all the levels here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9JdxLVBOeY

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

v 1.0 first version on LD site
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
v 1.1 added a offset system to doors so I can choose where the player will appear relative to the block.
This is due to some player getting stuck in the middle of the block, if you have the same bug tell me at which level and I will try to reproduce the bug and ultimately fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#862Innovation2.65
#1048Humor1.53
#1064Audio1.22
#1163Theme2.17
#1193Mood1.75
#1206Fun1.97
#1242Graphics1.68
#1250Overall2.06

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Interesting mechanic! I made it to level 3 a couple times but kept getting stuck in the blocks there.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

thanks!try jumping before the door in the bottom right door if thats where you are getting stuk

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

I passed the game in 1 minute lol.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

The game has numerous glitches that make the game unplayable.

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Managed to beat all 3 levels; fun mechanic!

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

The mechanic is very interesting, but it's buggy. I got stuck because a door teleported me into a rock :(
Feels a bit like portal, without the complicated part of creating portals :)

maloki says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

Got stuck as well. Lots of potential in your idea. :P

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

Cool mechanic, good puzzles!

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

The camera has a weird offset for me, the dude is not centered, i got stuck at level 2 i guess. Also there is too much drag while moving on the floors, that kind of minimal friction should only apply on the air, on ground it should be less draggin as the floor has more friction.

is an interesting idea and you can make good puzzles with it, not really sure how it fits the theme though.

ruthiepee says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice first game. The camera seems off to me too though, like the Unity web player is being cut off or something.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:16am

I made it to level 3 or 4 but ended up stuck in a rock. Collision resolution, amarite? My game has this kind of problem too. Fun idea, though!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:15am

The left door on the third level spawns you inside of a block and forces you to restart completely.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38am

I won! I think I blared through a lot of levels at high speed and didn't really get to see them though. Once I built up momentum I kept bouncing into exit doors. It's an interesting idea but it could use some work on the graphics and overall presentation.

ricklesauceur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:46am

got stuck :(

garygreen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I thought the sustained momentum was a really clever idea.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:43am

Has potential, congrats with a debut!

tuxxilla says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:56am

I won :) :)

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:47am

I think the mechanic is there, just need some more time to polish it. Otherwise, this is a pretty neat idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]