Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ECHO THE DOGEFIN RESCUES FLIGHT MH371

by matt_j - Jam Entry

such hero!

HOW TO PLAY ---
Direct Echo around with the mouse. Click/hold where you want him to go.

You can only carry 3 people, and you can't carry an oxygen tank and people at the same time.

Use the oxygen tank to shoot bubbles at the plane to fill it up with more air.

Shoot bubbles at any stray humans that are trying to swim for it to help them out!

CREDITS ---
All art, sound, music produced my be (except the doge image).

Coded in haxepunk.

TWITTER: matt_j2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#63Humor(Jam)3.65
#65Fun(Jam)3.67
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#236Audio(Jam)3.36
#247Theme(Jam)3.41
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#316Mood(Jam)3.16
#513Graphics(Jam)3.01

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Such people. Very sound. Much like. Wow.

Simple yet pretty challenging game, especially on hard difficulty!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

This made me smile the first time I saw it :)

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

Got done to 18 left before I died! Fun game, shooting bubbles was a bit confusing.

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

10 left Very close. Fun game. Much wow.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

Wow, such theme. Much fun. Very audio.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15am

Hard to control, but in a good way. I enjoyed this.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

instant happiness !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Fun game, the way the player moves the character worked very well except when going above the water where it seemed to falter a bit. All in all excellent entry!

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice game. Didn't figure out shooting bubbles though.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Very fun. You nailed the controls! Would've been more fun if there was a larger area to swim around in!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

such hard, but much fun, wow
Good job :)

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

So rescue. Very find. Wow.

I liked the art / animations on the little dudes.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

It's very fun to play! Nice and balanced gameplay, with a great pixel art. Great job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Aside of the title being a bit too early (tisk), the main game mechanic is fun.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Much difficult. Good challenge. Wow. Such theme. Many music.

GagaPete says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice take on the theme, it is pretty fun to be a dogefin.

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:04am

The first time when it said "press Z to shoot bubbles" caught me by surprise and I subsequently let someone drown. It would be nice to tell beforehand that the Z key is needed in some way.

Other than that: wow, such swimming, much fun, so music.

td1801 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:33am

A cool mini game, however Bubbles are more annoying than useful..

giordanno92 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:34am

What an awesome little game! Such jokes, much comic sans, wow. Great solid fun entry to play, getting Echo to become Doge is an awesome idea. It took me only one failure to understand the mechanics and two more plays to finish the game on normal. Solid controls, nice graphics, nice dificulty range, great music and sound effects, wow. One of the nicest entries I've ever seen

May 3, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Pretty fun! Such doge.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I was all set to dismiss this game as meme-y garbage, but then I realized that it's actually really fun and well made. Controls are simple and fairly intuitive. I wish you could right click to shoot bubbles so that the entire game could be mouse controlled.

Also, I think it's possible for you to lose because the plane is out of air, even when all the passengers have been rescued. Not 100% sure though.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool game! Solid gameplay, and decent graphics and music. I think the 'doge' thing is a bit overplayed in general, but whatever floats your boat. Still though, fun stuff!

eerongal says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Wow. Such game. Much appreciate.

Acuity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Simple, but pretty fun. Nice sfx and music, too!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:30pm

very bubbles.

Ithildin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:21am

I thought this would just be a random use of the meme, but the mechanic is pretty fun on its own and I must admit that I have a soft spot for doge-based memes, so...
Such dlophin. Wow. Much fun ;)

Yword says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Very funny! It is fun to play and quite addictive. Well done!

Pitoum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:38pm

A bit rough but still pretty funny! :D

recursor says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:55pm

lol. This was both funny and fun. Nice work :)

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:51am

Wow

Scam says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Funny concept.

psychonull says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:15pm

cool game, dogefin. Apple hates doge. We love doge.

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Didn't know how to shoot, but the premise is funny and the dogefin controls well.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:57am

Love that you included the apple rejection notice haha

Controls felt a little wonky, but I guess that's part of the challenge is learning how to effectively control him. Mechanics felt pretty solid for the most part other than that. Game was pretty hard, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

I was confused about the plane itself losing oxygen. Am i supposed to take the O2 to the plane, or use it to put a bubble around survivors, or both? It was a little confusing.

Overall though, I had fun messing around with it, definitely not bad at all for one person in 72 hours. If you're gonna continue working on it, though, I would recommend maybe adding some mechanics eventually, like sharks that come to attack that you have to fend off as well and such. Anything that adds to the total mayhem of the game and challenges you to spread your attention even more thin is likely to add to the excitement/fun. Will say that I'm absolutely so sick of this doge meme though :P

May 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

lol

goerp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:55am

You had so many posts on the compo page I HAD to try it. Being rejected by Apple for 'bad taste' also helps ;)

I also like crude graphics like 'just put a dogs head on a dolphin body' (which is well done by the way), so you rate high on the humor category!

Nice music, that gave me the strength to keep going!

Kerdelos says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:34am

I saved everyone !

Martin Ysa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Much Fun!!!

May 9, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Funny and controls pretty well too. Apple will regret crossing you

SK16Games says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Wow. Such hard. Much drown. many die. so water. me like. xD

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:18pm

FUN[5] game! Highly Enjoyable.

(Shame on Apple).

Xaychru04 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Haha such concept, so fun! (And very music!) :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]