Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save your tribe!

by FrameMatt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you, the sacrifice, want to save your tribe, you'll have to venture deep down trought the Volcano while you collect the soul shard, in order to become tastier to the Volcano God.

Hi~ this is my very first LD, i hope you guys like it... its like, the very first game i made. I'm actually working in other game called "The Chance", but so far this would be the very fisrt done :D

Also, sorry for any grammar issues (:
**The source, is a .rar with the whole Contruct 2 project

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#164Humor3.26
#399Theme3.44
#435Audio2.95
#489Graphics3.26
#717Overall3.00
#719Mood2.81
#916Fun2.60
#995Innovation2.46

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice job!

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

Original idea. Nice looking in game, although the text labels and buttons kinda let down the graphics a bit, and the GM Midi sounding music is a little annoying. A lot of potential

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

Great job, pretty fun!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

The music is really nice, and I like the rising heat as you go deeper into the volcano.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Good idea and pretty fun to play. The dying seemed pretty random - a lot of times when something hit me I expected to die but didn't.

Aske says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I had fun. That's the point right? :P

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Fun, but repetitive

Dooleus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This is a lot of fun at first! You should be hurt by the obstacles to make it more challenging - is it even possible to die?

I love the art and the music ain't bad, but I don't think they really match each other, somehow.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

This was really fun, and scores big on humor for me!

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Nice little game!

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

Very good job for a first game ! It works well and it's fun to play. Is the whole thing level-designed or is there a bit of random for replayability ? By the way i like the idea of becoming tastier for a sacrifice very much :D

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

Very cool! :) I love the graphics, well done!

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

Awww thank you guys :D

Yeah, i actually used other fonts, but i mess that up xD. I forget that i should put them onto images and not leave them just as pure text. Is ok to fix that? or i must wait until this three weeks are no more?

About the level, it goes 50-50, in each level of tastiness i told to Construct how many rocks or lava torrent it must spawn, but their location is set to be random.
Now talking about the lava torrents, they can either stop you, pull you down or throw you up. At first i didn't like it, i was trying just to trap the player for a short span of time, but while testing the game i realize that if the player gets pulled down and collisions with the detector (which is a sprite moving always upwards, that spawn the rocks or lava torrents) that you can get multiple spawns. So i make the decision to leave it as it was working because i love it. Obviously, since the game its quite easy, it's very difficult to see it, but i think that's okey, because its to much to evade.. that will kill you 90% for sure.... but makes it fun, doesn't it? :D ...(?)

Cheers! :D

*I'm not a natural english speaker, please excuse me for any typos D:

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

Great job on the game and the booty. Your character's expression on the way down really brings the premise home.

Pete_H says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:45am

Love the art style :) The little guys face cracks me up!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:51am

Love the graphics (especially the main character's expression) and backstory.
To people wondering if it's possible to die: yes it is, I actually died several times :)
Why do those shards like hiding underneath rocks so much?!

Tomski says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:25am

Nice game. Like the music

psychonull says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:29am

Loved the art and the backstory. Proud to save my tribe!

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:48am

I got eaten! And i was tasty! Yay!

It's a bit weird that fireballs just.. stop you, instead of maybe bouncing you off or something. It's easy to get captured on top of a row of fireballs, and little you can do about it except shuffle a bit, wait and hope you pop back down.

The music is nice, but doesn't really fit the situation. I suppose you went for the humor category there =]

The menus are mouse only and ingame is keyboard only. It'd be nice if the menus could be controlled with a keyboard too.

I like the little comic in the instructions screen =)

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:26am

I could die achieving a lvl10 of tastiness ! I failes 3x 4x times to reach the bottom of the volcano before that. I would never have thought that volcana diving was so tricky :D

Pitoum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Nice simple game but try to match your buttons with the art of the game, it would be nicer :)

delfino says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice! I like the look/feel and the audio was quite good too

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:28pm

A cute and fun game! And nice graphics!

The background sound is a bit laggy for me though.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Simple, cool game! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you want to check it out :) http://youtu.be/wBne0r55jPY

shadow64 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:37am

I think this is a great start and a really solid first entry for LD. I agree with some people that I wasn't sure what was killing me and I also had a lot of issues with the obstacles being right in the same path as the reward - literally no way for me to get them. That's a bug you'll need to work out.

Overall, I like the idea, but the execution isn't quite there in this version. If I can make one final suggestion, place the player a little bit further away (towards the top of the screen). Right now he's pretty close to the middle and by the time obstacles appear there's little that can be done to avoid them.

That's it. Just keep going! The more you do the better it'll get!

Thanks for sharing and thank you for playing/rating my entry! :)

FrameMatt says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:26pm

:D
Sorry for the shards hiding behind the fireballs, since the game only have 10 levels, i thought that by not fixing that it will become a bit longer and it will increase the chances to lose the game. Since it seems that everyone suffer with it, i will try to remove it :D

@shadow64
Wow, thank you so much for that feedback (:!

To everyone, thank you so much :D
..and please excuse my english (typos too)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]