Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

CAVE TO DOWN

by kato - Jam Entry

Use arrow keys to move
Space to dig
z to attack enemies

Special thanks to:
Bateria de jogos, for administering the event ludum dare gogogo!
Daniel Nascimento, for sending me a link to a website for creating the music of the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#430Theme(Jam)3.05
#485Innovation(Jam)2.74
#492Fun(Jam)2.77
#498Audio(Jam)2.72
#534Graphics(Jam)2.95
#544Humor(Jam)2.13
#608Overall(Jam)2.78
#656Mood(Jam)2.43

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

I like!!!!!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

Try this:
Make the game for Mobile!!! I see future for this game....

NuSan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Cool game, a bit hard to survive

kato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Thanks to all
My idea was to be difficult

bentog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Very difficult, indeed! The gameplay is simple, but the strategy to survive is not!

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I was surprised at how long I ended up playing this game. It was very fun! Keep up the great work! ;)

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Doing full circle makes all enemies one but 1 hit 1 death :D
Spoiler solution:
Going farest corner, w8 for enemies to come, run to other corner and open :)
I like it!

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Cute game! :)

I liked the graphics and the music was great. Where did you go to create the music?

byExclusive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:41pm

likeeee

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51pm

seemed like hammering the attack key made it impossible to die. really like the sprites :D

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Little word of advise: don't use installers for your game, usually people don't like them and prefer zip file (but I've no idea if it's even possible with Gamemaker?).
That being said, nice little game, would definitively see that on mobile. Good work!

Andy Gainey says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I couldn't really figure anything out regarding combat. Who was attacking me and when, or how to strategically attack back. I ended up just pressing z repeatedly since that seemed to attack in all directions (despite what the animation suggested), sticking a few presses of space in there every now and then to dig. That seemed to work most of the time, but sometimes I'd end up taking damage from someone and I couldn't tell who or why, or what to do about it.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:26pm

I think I crushed my Space-Key :D Nice Job!

kato says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Sorry, can not remember the site name, but is a site that creates songs randomly, and put the version and just click and play
Thanks to all

iiechapman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very Difficult game, nifty idea to Dig n' Survive!

Gaspard_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Had a hard time at first, but eventually managed it.
Repeatedly mashing space instead of holding space was not obvious for me.
That being said, it's pretty good.

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:55pm

It's very fun ! But my hand hurt :'(
Nice job !

stenol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Pretty fine game. Gratz :)

reheated says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice art, and quite fun! But sore hand yeah.

rojo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Not bad. Digging stuff up was pretty satisfying. I would say a potential improvement would be to adjust the pacing of the enemies while adding a cooldown to your attack so there's a little more strategy there other than spamming the attack button.

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I spent most of the game simply spamming the space-bar to kill enemies. I understand this is the primary challenge of the game but it was not one of skill, merely dexterity. This game would destroy phone screens on mobile.

It would be nice to see this game expanded with some kind of strategic elements. Not being able to pass over holes, for example, could provide some depth to the experience.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:30am

nice keyboard bashing game there. it was pretty good and I thought it fit the theme - pretty hard too - good job

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:30am

Basically just mashed space and Z over and over again until my fingers bled. It was kind of exciting/fun at first in that "yeah! button mashing!" sense, but the novelty rapidly expired and quickly grew tiresome. Needed some kind of variation in the attacks/enemies. Maybe bombs and the like. And varied enemy spawns, they just kind of kept flowing in an endless slaughter, which in turn kept me mashing buttons.

could probably be modified into a decently fun mobile game.

Nonetheless, kudos to you for making a game this past weekend and seeing it to completion, not everyone always makes it through, and most people don't even try.

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:58pm

A really neat game, although my left hand hurt a little after playing it :S
At first, I did not understand that you need to press Space repeatedly to dig up a square, mostly because the progress bar was hard to spot.
That being said, both graphics and audio are awesome. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]