Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Covered

by indigofiz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Navigate the maze. The catch? The maze is covered by a (sort of) surface.

Arrow Keys -> Navigate
Space -> Peek / Next level (after win)/ Restart level (after death)
Z -> Immediately restart level

Bit too busy during the weekend so it's only 5 levels short. That being said, the intended concept should deliver pretty well.

Try to get all the coins in the level for extra challenge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#137Theme3.79
#199Innovation3.61
#632Overall3.11
#668Fun2.89
#694Audio2.50
#1035Humor1.63
#1049Mood2.38
#1166Graphics2.09

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

Took a few presses of Start to get it going (might have just been my computer or some such), but once it did it worked fine. Very cool concept... sound became very important to navigate with.

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Stayed true to the theme, but the sounds, and graphics were lacking to say the least. Was also crazy short. No bugs were found though

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Great concept. Some levels were crazy hard compared to the amount of peeks you get. But it was fun to try and listen to sound effects to get to the goal. :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53am

Hard to memorize the level in that short amount of time before it gets hidden.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I like the idea!Perhaps the peek should last just a liiittle bit longer? I can see it being difficult to balance (without playtesting) because, as a creator, you would look so much at the game that you wouldn't even need to peek.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Thank you for the reply!

Now that you mention it, maybe the peek time is too short and the initial reveal at the start of the level is also too short.

I'm considering about longer peek time but you froze when you peek. I'll try it later. And yeah, maybe I look at the game so much I don't have to peek :/

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Nice concept, but a bit too difficult. With some clever 'tutorial' levels and really thoughtful level design this could be a great puzzle game! Also, whenever I died and hit space, I still advanced to the next level, I wanted to try again!!

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Neat idea, frustrating but in a fun way!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Good concept, I like how you had to rely on using sound to navigate

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Enjoyed the concept, like you said more levels would have been nice. Maybe if you could create some random generation of coins in levels that would be cool... Peak time was a little short for me! I really liked how the sound effects helped, would be much more difficult without it!

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Really interesting use of sounds. We are so used to relying in vision that we forget the power of listening, so your game is really refreshing. I think you could have worked a little more in the sound effects, though, given how important they are. Anyway, the levels are nice for proof of concept. The difficulty increases in a good pace and I think the peek duration was sufficient to keep the game challenging. Nice job! =D

indigofiz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Thank you all for the kind reply! Fixed the very minor bug of space advancing the level. Now if you die, you won't be able to advance, pressing space will instead restart the level :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

I love mazes so I enjoyed this game a lot. It did take me a while to figure out how fast i was moving, but once i got a feel for that, it was fun

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50am

I liked the overall concept but I believe it's too hardcore. If there were some hints on how to navigate the level it could be so much more fun!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27am

I really like this interpretation of beneath the surface, this is a fun little puzzle game! Good work!

J.Barrows says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34am

Fun, but I ran out of peeks on Level 3 and simply couldn't do anything else.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:53pm

i like your different approach to the theme. i enjoyed the game and like the way of navigating by checking your score

thaaks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Very good game idea for the theme. It would be better to make it more obvious how far you are moving each step. Memorizing the level is already hard enough.
More levels and more hazards would be nice for a future version and improved graphics too ;-)
Good job, overall!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very fun and interesting concept

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like the idea!

nesis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:56pm

A solid, simple game with a reliable mechanic. Nice straightforward interpretation of the theme.

Pitoum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Nice mechanics! You should force the player to move step by step, it's too easy to lost yourself right now :)

ripatti says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Great concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]