Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Segfault

by spartangeek - Jam Entry

Instructions:
use left/right to move and space to jump. key UP activates the megajump.
Beware: if you fall from a big height you may die, press ESC to quit.

Gameplay: Platformer;

Version: Windows only.


This is the game created with some folks for our very first Ludum Dare Jam! Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#471Humor(Jam)2.32
#578Theme(Jam)2.68
#683Mood(Jam)2.29
#688Graphics(Jam)2.36
#713Fun(Jam)2.12
#752Innovation(Jam)1.84
#757Overall(Jam)2.00
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Interesting concept. I would suggest refining the jumping mechanic as it was a bit frustrating :) Also, the game seems to freeze after dying - so perhaps a button to restart? Still, it's a cool idea for the theme!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice story. The path to the top is a long one...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

The green flicker on the platforms was a nice, simple way to make the game look nicer.

General movement felt good, although the way the knight snaps to a platform when he jumps through it is awkward. Instead he should pass through it while moving upwards, but not actually stand on it until he descends. You should be able to do this just by checking his y-velocity to determine how he is colliding with the platform. If it's positive and his previous position was above the platform, then land on its surface--otherwise pass through it.

Other than that, the game is pretty simple and probably too lengthy for its mechanics.

Chinchilla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:45am

Arrrghhh.... died at ~6000 meters... Would say that the platforming was kind of stiff and awkward, but it just made the super jump all the more awesome. Moar cubes!

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:45am

Nice game, cool story too

Genecyll says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I enjoyed playing your game. It's a nice concept!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I'm in agreement with Mental Atrophy.

Good job for a first attempt! An innovative concept. Cubes falling so infrequently and there being gaps I couldn't traverse without a megajump meant that I spent a whole lot of time sitting around waiting, rather than playing. You might also want to tweak the controls, since having regular movement and megajump on one hand, with the regular jump on the other hand, doesn't make much sense. It would be easier to play if you swapped the two kinds of jump.

Thanks for the game!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:35am

Funny game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]