Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Darkvision

by vexille - Jam Entry

Darkvision is an atmospheric horror platformer, heavily inspired by classic cinematic platformers like Oddworld and Heart of Darkness. Interact with the Evil Altars to reveal passages and also dangers that lie in the evil parallel dimension!

Controls:
- Left and right arrow keys: Move the character
- Left shift: run
- Space: Jump
- Up: Interact with Altars (hold) and doors (press)

This was my first try at Ludum Dare and it has been one hell of a ride! As with most people, I didn't manage to put in half of what I had planned, but I'm still very happy with the results! Darkvisions has 8 levels in total, plus a special message at the end. Can you get to the ending? :)

Thanks for checking my game out, and I'd love to hear any feedback you might have!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#49Mood(Jam)4.00
#131Audio(Jam)3.63
#272Graphics(Jam)3.63
#297Overall(Jam)3.33
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#453Innovation(Jam)2.81
#497Theme(Jam)2.91
#544Humor(Jam)2.13

Comments

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Good game, I wasn't overly fond of having to wait for the altars to charge up though.

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

maybe write on the weblink that it's unity ? :) as a partial Ubuntu user i can't use the unityweb thing.. :/

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

Graphics are a bit too dark to my liking, but the rest is pretty nicely done :)

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52am

i really like the dark ambiance

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

The time mechanics become very tedious

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Moody and looks good, but the platforming mechanics are a bit too clumsy to get very far.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice entry for your first Ludum Dare. The game was interesting though a bit buggy.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice atmosphere and music :) ! The altar idea is great. I find the game too easy though.

Dans17 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

Nice mood and the animations are really cool (despite being buggy at times).

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09am

Great mix of music and setting/style. I've seen a lotta video game crypts in my day, but I was still into this.

The timing-based challenges were a bit repetitive, and more random feeling than challenging when in a rush.

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:57am

fantastically dark mood. I love it!

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very nice climbing mechanics and great mood! I wish there were more levels.

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56am

Nice idea with the altars. Very good atmosphere and sound. The jumping felt a bit strange.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

very cool style

May 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

No I couldn't get to the ending, tried and failed... :( Still, I liked the style of the game, and the music was great!

elliottd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Very well done. Check that ledge grab! Nice music, good mood. wasd work to control the character, but w doesn't work to activate altars or use doors. that's a little strange.

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Cool atmosphere, I enjoyed the later challenging levels :)

Mnemusyne says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Nice dark vibe. Controls were floaty at times, but the grabbing ledges mechanic was well done. Level design could've been more interesting.

DraKlaW says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:44am

it crash my browser (Chrome) the first time, 2nd time, i finish the game. a bit repeating gameplay, but very good mood !

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:58pm

awesome job, liked the edge-hold effect when you don't make a jump, nice game!

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Somebody's played a lot of Abe's Oddysse I see :P Me too, so I made it through first try ^^ For some reason the 'W' button doesn't charge altars so you can't really use the WASD side of the keyboard which is a shame. The hanging/climbing is also somewhat buggy. Other than that I really love this game! The levels are interesting and have a decent difficult curve, and the universe makes me want a longer game where I can explore who this character is and what they're doing praying to altars and exploring caverns.

Great job!

vexille says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Thank you all for your comments and feedback! I've learned a lot from this experience. My studio has been working hard towards the release of our recent game, so I haven't found much time to work more on Darkvision.

BUT, progress since the end of the LD entry has already been made, and I do intend to release a version that's actually a complete game (even if a short one.) And all your comments are a big motivator towards that goal, so thanks for that everybody! I'll update the page here when I have any news.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]