Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Fish

by Hamsternator - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first submition to LD ever! =D
Since I'm not a programmer this game was made using the software Construct2 and since I'm neither an artist or musician either all assets were made...poorly.

You are a fish, but also a ninja. Sneak up on your enemies and eliminate them before they realise that you're there.

Use the arrow keys to swim around and press "Z" in case of an emergency to deploy a smoke bomb.

I wish I could have expanded on the theme a bit but unfortunately I got some sort of "designers block" and couldn't figure out how in this short amount of time =)

Software used in creation of this game:
-Construct2
-Photoshop CS6
-FL Studio 11
-Bfxr

Update: By popular demand (and common sense that I lack) I have split the different OS-versions of the game so you can download the particular one you need to be able to play it.
I'm really happy for the feedback that you're all giving me and I have more than once slapped myself in the face for making some simple design mistakes in this project. (Swimming infinitely up in the air is totally one of those)

No matter how my little game is rated in the end I will surely come back for the next LD, because this place and the people in it are way more awesome than I ever imagined =D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Humor3.00
#649Theme3.16
#792Audio2.28
#843Innovation2.67
#849Fun2.68
#852Graphics2.69
#953Overall2.76
#983Mood2.48
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

One thing is for sure, your shark looks a lot better than the last shark I tried to draw :). Liked the wave-effect.

Sink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56am

Really cool screen effect for the water! It was fun to control. There's no cool-down for the dash though so I could just dash everywhere

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

I liked the concepts and the art was fine. You did a good job. :) I enjoyed the game play, but the dash feature was kind of an issue.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

A bit easy because of the smoke thing, but cool nevertheless... Good job!

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Grats on your first entry! The water wave effect is neat, and the particles when you dash are a nice touch.

It would have benefited from some instructions, plus the 120MB download is a bit much. Maybe split it by platform.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40pm

The graphics are pretty cool hehe, there are some good aspects of humor in this. You should add an ingame text for tutorials cus i didnt realize how was i going to assasinate them :D

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

Cute! that wave effect really adds a lot, and the movement is smoooooth.

Zer0XoL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:31am

./ninjafish: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Hamsternator says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:03am

ZerOXoL are you trying to run the game or open the project files, and what OS are you using? Unfortunately I have no opportunity to actually test the Mac and Linux versions so I'm sort of hoping that the exporter did what it's supposed to do for those versions =)

Vinyl Pixels says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

You should splt the pack with executables :)
Quite fun, I liked the exlporing and kicking larger fish in their butts :)

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Really cool water effect!

Also, something to keep you from going off the top of the screen would be nice.

abayb says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:57pm

All it needs now is a win-state!

rojo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:32am

Funny idea. The wave effect was cool, and I enjoyed the gameplay. The music could use a little work though.

Teesquared says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

Cool wave effect. Enemies need to be more aggressive. Interesting art style.

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

The assets are not that bad for a 48h competition. I like that you managed to create 3 different kind of enemies each with a really different behaviour. Controls work smoothly too so the gameplay side is really well done. Congrats for this good first LD entry!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:43pm

These avatars speak to me!
Fun gameplay too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]