Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doug Diggz

by eatsleepindie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Doug Diggz is a video game about a miniature miner who is doing all he can to collect enough coins to lure himself a princess. He's going to require some help navigating the mine shaft, and that is where you come in:

A - Rotate mine shaft LEFT
D - Rotate mine shaft RIGHT
S - Move down one level

Doug Diggz can move to the left or right to collect coins and avoid obstacles. Collect as many coins as you can as you descend the mine shaft, but keep an eye on your timer. If you don't reach the bottom before the timer runs out, you're out of air, and out of life. But if you can hammer those keys (and I mean hammer them, it's intended to be a bit of a button-masher) with skill and reach the end of the mine shaft with at least 100 coins... well, I don't want to spoil the ending for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#208Innovation3.59
#228Audio3.31
#231Graphics3.72
#235Humor3.03
#249Theme3.62
#376Fun3.24
#425Overall3.31
#570Mood2.97

Comments

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Really cool concept, little bit different than other digging games ;)
I had a big problem though that made this experience a bit frustrating. Sometimes i couldn't go down fast enough. If i kept pressing down, eventually he would stop digging. I had to wait a bit and hold the button longer, or press it multiple times, for him to dig further.

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Really fun and well-executed mechanic. I occasionally experience some collision issues, it seems, but not enough to bother me too much. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

Aww, this game is really cute :) The graphics are perfect. The gameplay is really interesting and its an innovating style. Like Kiyaku and Sestren, I encountered some problems when digging, Doug would stop mining, but like Sestren, it doesnt remove the fun I have to play :)
Really nice work !

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really nice graphics, and a neat concept for puzzle kind of game. As others have said, there may be a collision issue here and there, but it would be interesting to see where you could take the idea. Nice job.

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

5 for innovation - really coolmechanics!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Very interesting gameplay, this could easily be expanded into an even more complex and rewarding game. Great work!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Good job ! Maybe the coins should be more visible :)?

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Bah! Best I managed was 82! Awesome little game, easy to play and very well presented! Nice one :D

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Controls need work, half the time it wouldn't respond to trying to dig down.

Since you're using Unity, are you checking input on FixedUpdate instead of Update? That might be what's causing the problem if you are; input should always be read on Update since the intervals on FixedUpdate don't always correspond to when input is read.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Lovely design and nicely executed gameplay. Should develop this idea further for mobile market! (though "Digger Doug" sounds more marketable ;-D )

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Pretty nice. You can still keep digging down even on the death screen, though :P

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Poor, poor Doug... Is it just me or... ah, never mind, just read the first comment while I am typing this. Yes that is a bit frustrating.

I've seen a gif of your WIP on the homepage or twitter this weekend and it seemed like an interesting game.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Cool game. I could go through the stone sometimes (I found myself just mashing S after a little while)

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Solid game. It is the first game so far where I remember thinking I need to check that out just from the screenshots. A lot of fun, and great looking. Good job =)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

Diggy, Diggy hole

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

This seemed really promising, but it was a bit too broken for a game meant to be a button masher. It felt half the time it didn't matter which block you tried to dig through, moving through stones, but getting stuck on dirt. Some time nothing at all happened and I just had to wait for the timer to run out :/ It looks pretty fun, though!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Nice little game, refreshing gameplay. Some issues with collision though

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Cool idea, I enjoyed it, but it seems impossible to get the requested 100 coins :o
Loved the music :)

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03am

nicely done! neat mechanic to the game

alhvi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Really cool game. I liked the mechanics and the music too. Well done :) and thank you for trying our game :D

madjackmcmad says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Great, simple concept. Controls slightly wonky but still workable. Pretty, and nice music too. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]