Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Enlightened

by Marjie62 - Jam Entry

In this two player game, you and your opponent play as secret societies attempting to eliminate one another by gaining control over puppets. However, your rival's position is secret. You can guess your rival's position by means of suspicious activity along the connections between puppets, which grows more obvious as your rival utilizes their connections.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.03
#117Theme(Jam)3.69
#203Mood(Jam)3.45
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#428Humor(Jam)2.42
#457Fun(Jam)2.83

Comments

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Very Awesome idea for a game! Congrats!

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

Very interesting idea!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

This is a very novel game idea, and it's implemented well. I've only been able to play a few games against myself, not having anyone available in person, but even that I had quite a bit of fun with. I really like the mechanic of figuring out what's going on for the other player, and the abilities are well-thought out. It would be neat to see a version of this that allows more options than local two-player.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

Took a while to grok the mechanics; I blew past all the instructional text on the first screen originally. Not enough feedback to intuit if things are going well or poorly strategically.

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

Cool concept, too bad no one around to play against so I had to play against myself. I love the art style of the game and the game mechanics. Could use some audio, and maybe add in a AI to play against in a post-compo version. Good job anyway.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:14am

oh this is beautiful! So deep and so interesting. Top marks for fun and innovation, loved this!

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:20am

I'm always up for more board games, and this has a pretty cool premise. There's a lot of possibility here. I would definitely like to see an AI so I could play single player. You could have different levels, even randomly generated ones? The mechanics are fairly simple, I wonder how balanced they are; you could possibly add more features...But anyway, I liked it!

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Extremely cool idea and wonderfully appropriate graphics. Shame there's no AI, but this has so much potential to be developed post compo.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This is a really cool concept! :D

Marjie62 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48am

Hi guys, we've been working on this since the jam; We've done some bug fixes, tweaked balancing, and improved some art assets and usability issues. Hoping to work on AI and/or LAN multiplayer this weekend! We're going to keep providing the up to date version via this link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14279010/Enlightened_web.html

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Great entry! Congrats!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:56am

Hi. Interesting illuminati-style idea. Clever presentation, possibly work better on two screens linked via webserver/service-server of some sort. Bit complex to play and rate reasonably, so am basing rating on a few minutes tinkering with interface and presentation - apologies for that! Have bookmarked to take a look again later. The popup menu is perhaps a bit small - could zoom in or popup bigger or something while working with a particular node ? Though I also see the sense in keeping the entire strategic picture.

strong99 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:55am

Cool concept. Hard to play with two when you can't see the other's playfield. Controls are a bit sturdy but overall a good concept with a lot of intrigue :)

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice concept! really good interpretation of the theme.
And a type of game that we don't see a lot at ludum dare...
I play alone (against computer - version post compo) so I don't know how complexe it can be, but congrats.

ALobker says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The game is a bit slow for my taste, but I really liked the graphics!

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I found the interface to be a bit difficult to work with but besides that it is a really great gameplay idea serving a really great take on the theme. I wish you'll keep working on it, add music, a 4 players mode, AI, etc... That could be a fantastic iPad board game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]