Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Birth of the Earth

by Fragsteel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Before Earth was the garden world we know it to be, four elemental gods fought over it to forge it in their own image. You play a helpless subterranean creature who's trying to save his people from the clash of the titans.

Gather creatures and drop them off into hovels while avoiding meteors that grow into procedural fractals.

Press space to skip the introduction. Made with Game Maker 8.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#517Fun3.06
#730Mood2.80
#939Theme2.74
#969Innovation2.50
#1007Overall2.70
#1125Graphics2.21
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I struggled to know what the controls for this game was until I realised that there were more than one screen in the intro. The last screen was a little too fast for me to read it all :( would be a nice idea to put the controls in the description?

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42am

It was a little annoying in the beginning, because you cannot go through the intro at your own pace (i.e. click next/ hit a button to transition from one screen to the other).

I had quite a bit of fun right after the intro, as I kept avoiding the earth, but then I've realised that it is not killing me so I just ignored it. Also it is a little bit annoying that there are no visual indicators whether you picked one of the little fellas up or not.

Cute little game!

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21pm

After abit of confusion,this was actually quite fun :) Nice one!

andymar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Fun, intuitive and creative game. Enjoyed loads.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:19pm

i liked all the different patterns of elements :)

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:24pm

This was pretty fun, It wouldve been nice to see how many of the 23 I had rescued though. I wasn't sure how close I was at any time so it reduced the tension considerably near the end.

XenosNS says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Cute story. Could use some sounds. Had issues with some slow down at points.

Harsay says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:14pm

It was fun.

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Fun game!

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Good effort with the story, and the game was very pleasant to play (although it was a bit slow).
I really liked the way the gods' attacks looked with all those geometric patterns. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]