Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shark Feast

by carrier_signal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game ever AND this is also my first Ludem Dare ;)

I decided to make an action game where you are a shark. Your health slowly counts down, and you need to keep eating sea life to stay alive.

There is a gratuitous amount of gore so for mature audiances please :)

I was lucky enough to record some real life ocean and bird sounds the day this thing was due.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#199Audio3.40
#235Humor3.03
#358Fun3.27
#490Theme3.34
#532Overall3.20
#588Mood2.95
#671Graphics2.98
#917Innovation2.58

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Really cool. Might be on the easy side, though.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

Sharks die if they don't eat? hahaha, I like the game though

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

I'm getting an error launching the web player

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

Pretty funny. I like all the particles.

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

Okay, I had way to much fun with that…

Game 'feels' just about perfect for what it's trying to do. The music, the atmosphere, and the gratuitous gore all add up to a great diversion.

The only complaint that I have is that after you figure it out, there is NO challenge. Then again, considering how long I played it, maybe that's a plus.

leparlon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

I've found killing the orcas to be is immensely satisfying, good job. Fun game.

Eirikir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

This is really cool for your first game ever, gratz man!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

This is pretty fun. It needs more divers :D

granut100 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

This game was good! I liked the splash of particles when coming out of the water.

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Congrats with your first game! :D
Not bad for a first go, was a bit confused in the beginning, but got the hang of it in the rest.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Jay shark games :). I love the music, great work!

Detocroix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Killer whale killing mechanics <3

Catmoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Haha that was awesome, similar to my game but my fish was a more friendly fish :)

Really enjoyed attacking everything and trying to survive :)

Audio was great too!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Hey thanks for some of the comments guys! I have to admit some of things about this game that people and myself like so much were flukes/bugs.

Think if I went back I'd change some things like only getting health back on killing and not munching.

Also there is a bug at the bottom of the sea where you can go under the sand if you are on the far left or right. However I don't believe this is "game breaking" because you can still starve :)

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I like it, and the sounds is awesome!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Congrats for making you first game!
The gameplay isn't too original, and there is some room for improvement challenge wise, but what really makes this game is the wonderful audio and your graphics style that make playing quite enjoyable!

Well done :)

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Eating Ocras four times your size is so much fun!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Oh the magnificent violence!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

fun! lacks a bit of a challange, stoped playing at score >2000 points.

good work and a fun game to play (- : keep it up!

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

Nice gameplay twist. Endless eater should be its own genre. Love the music, especially the one on the menu screen with the splashing

Pickle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:28am

The amount of blood from the orcas lol....
I also like being able to jump out of the water to get those pesky birds. Got a highscore of about 4,000, then a crab kills me... the irony.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

hahaha, the movement is hilarious! had lots of fun, should be getting harder overt time though, as ppl already mentioned.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very fun, killing is really satisfying! The controls were kinda messy though

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Very fun, although easy, killing is really satisfying! The controls were kinda messy though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice! I love that you can jump out of the water and eat the birds ;)

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Very good game, especially for your first Ludum!
When I found out about Orca's I didn't die anymore and stopped when I went over score 5000.

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14pm

For a first game in unity, you really nailed a lot of details with particle systems and such. It was quite fun swimming around, but a little too hard to direct the shark. Especially since it seemed like you would only green-eat when hitting prey head-on with the mouth. An alternative way of control worth testing would be to let the shark home in on the mouse/touch pointer. Nice for pads and such if you have those ambitions.

A bit clearer explanation about the importance of the mouth and that all things can hurt you would have been nice. In fact it felt a bit unfair that shark always took the hit if collided with any object (not with mouth). At least both should take damage. Or none. To make it fair.

Another thing to consider is to start out with fewer animals in the water and have them become attracted to the blood so game gets progressively harder yet can start at something relatively harmless (like you and a surfer and a gull).

Nice first game. Hope you liked the LD-experience and will do more.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Addictive!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I can't get past the main menu on the web version.

nesis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:11pm

A fun, simple game fitting the theme. Audio was pretty loud!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Excellent use of audio and atmosphere. Felt super creepy. The bite/eat sound was very satisfying. Good work! :)

paps says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:33pm

very fun to play. Am I the only one who to tried to eat a bird?

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:04pm

very fun. love the gore/particle effects.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]