Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bridge to the Abyss

by Agecaf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enjoy :)

Updates: [April 29] The game has been uploaded to Kongregate. It has only a slight music bug-fix and the high-score API implementation.

[April 30] Bug-fix (Kongregate Version only): You only get points from a certain depth onwards, to prevent just safely moving along the surface.

Please note that I will leave the GameJolt version as the official Ludum Dare version, without any change to the original source code. If you wish to know the changes due to bugfixes, please ask.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#12Audio4.17
#134Mood3.67
#202Fun3.50
#204Theme3.67
#214Overall3.57
#342Innovation3.38
#879Graphics2.65
#892Humor1.96

Comments

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Bookmarking so Ican 5/5 this when voting comes out. Timing music with movement and the "bounce out" when you get hit works brilliantly.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice controls and music. Like the powerups and the enemies. There doesn't really seem to be any goal though. Would like to have visible counter increasing if the goal is to get as deep as possible.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Perfect combination of sound and gameplay. Even looks very simple, but very enjoyable!

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very simple (but therefore without many disturbing bugs) and the music is very good!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The music is very well integrated into the game, making for a great atmosphere. Great game !

I found that you could just stay at the surface and move to one side and never died, but that's just a small issue.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Great one, after I realised what I am supposed to do I had some fun with it. Music fits great. Although it seems it skips strangely after sometime. Nice job

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

This is a really cool but simple game. More experience than game, but man, the music and movement set a real nice tone.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Cool! The music works great with all the rest.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Loved the music. It was rewarding to hear the music change as I got deeper

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Bookmarking it too. My favorite entry so far.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Great execution on the idea. It also put me a good mood for some reason.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great game, very easy to understand and the compo between the music and movement is brilliant.

bitserum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:38pm

This simple little game has to be my favorite ever on Ludum Dare. You did great, polish it up some and port it to mobiles!

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

love how the music shifts once you go under, really adds to the experience!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Simple game with really nice music!

Stuffie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Great job, Audio integration was really nice

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07pm

great game ! it reminds me a musical game I used to play once.
Need some polish though, at least to know how deep we are :)

CDK says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

the music got very repeatative even though it was nice. :)

i would like to see some highscore.. but i don't really know how kongregate works... would i be able to see a highscore if i was logged in?

Agecaf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Okay, I'll tell you a secret. You actually can see your highscore. But you can only see it near the surface. Oh, and if you want to claim any points, you have to come back to the surface again. But don't tell anyone, *it's a secret*.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Really awesome use of music!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Could make a great game with some more work, it would be nice to se how deep you've swum! Music is perfect and the graphics works well.

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:20am

Great atmosphere, love the music. Nice job.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:21am

The best game I have played this ludum dare so far. Great work. Nice music! And hard!

reheated says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:40am

Lots of fun with wonderful music. At first I found it strange that I couldn't see my own score once I went deeper. But I like it - adds to the feeling of being lost in a vast ocean.

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:24am

I really enjoyed this entry. One of the best I have played so far.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:24am

Wonderful game. Great marriage between the audio and the gameplay. Really enjoyed this one. Simple and fun. Well done!

Delca says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Amazing game! The simple graphics and gameplay were great, and the audio was just wonderful; it was very fitting to your game.
Only problem was at the beginning, there seems to be a 'burst' of red thingies. If after some playthroughs, it is easy enough to avoid, it might put off some people.
Once again, great audio and congratulations for making this gem of a game!

May 3, 2014 @ 4:08pm

fun! though i did not manage to get a single point i had genuine fun playing it! Great work and the music is so awesome i was thinking you must have stolen it : D

renatopp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Great music and nice details

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Wonderful piano. Did you try smoother movement? Or its part of game style? Also liked how music reacts on gameplay events.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Wow! Music is just phenomenal. Really beautiful. I loved the timing of the movements with the beat of the song. Allowing the song to continue was really what kept me playing, and kept me playing for a long time. Bravo.

May 6, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Was not quite sure what to do, but I loved the music! I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

gapgen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:00pm

A nice little game akin to Flappy Bird or Super Hexagon in terms of short, challenging playthroughs. I also liked the way the music reset when you jumped back. Could be interesting to re-release with proper art, etc.

iambored2006 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:11am

I was really sad when I died after a long playthrough. Not because of the score, I just wanted to hear more of the music. Very good game!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:21am

Awesome music!

mcapraro says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:17pm

love the way the music builds, really nice feel to this

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]