Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave'n Escape

by lamphj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

wasd or arrow keys to move.
space bar to jump.
'm' to mute.
My first Ludum Dare.

Created using ImpactJS and Impact++.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#71Audio3.73
#186Graphics3.82
#220Fun3.47
#292Mood3.32
#299Theme3.56
#357Overall3.39
#595Humor2.38
#962Innovation2.52

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Lovely! The cave is awesome and the concept feels really good!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Very nice indeed! Love the graphic style and the audio/music goes really well with it.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice graphics and sound, good game

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Really enjoyed playing this, pixels are great, the way the menu blends into the start of the game. love it!

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Very nice game! :)
It might be very cool on smartphones.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Great game!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Really digging the retro sprites here.

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Sweet! Good work.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice sound and graphics. This could work well on mobile platforms.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice Music and Graphics. A little bit too hard for me, but I am not a platformer specialist.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

This is a great jump+run! Love the music :)

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Great art in this!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I really like the graphical style. Nice nice pixel art dude!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

wow really perfect and fun and hard :)

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Nice cave+lighting. Very nice!

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

That last part is super hard, I couldn't beat it! It was fun though!

Aaants says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Really nice work. Great in every area!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Great audio and pixel art. Jumps were more frustrating than fun, but I might not be the best platformer. It also seemed like if I wasn't holding right constantly, I was doomed! So why not make it an infinite runner?

Great start, just needs some smoothing out! Keep it up!

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice little game. Brutally hard, though, but it might do well as an infinite runner game. I like the music! :)

danidre14 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Pretty short and nice. Like it. Nice work.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Pretty hard!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great, but the blocks falling from the top are almost impossible to avoid... Anyway it's a great job for a first LD, keep it up :)

f7f5 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Great graphics! And the music helps setting a wonderful mood. The jumping is frustrating at some points (but maybe it's just my keybaord's space bar that's getting old and tired).
A lot of fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]