Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ITS A TREE

by lyla - Jam Entry

Grow a tree. Underground? Will the tunnel end?
Yes. Yes it will.

---------------------------------------------------

Spacebar to grow -- Arrow keys to switch branch and reload to replay cause I'm a newb.

Max two branches from each node and make sure to keep your tree fed with delicious delicious sandwiches.

Arthanks to Kate C.
Musicthanks to Micah
And combothanks to Namuol (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=12236) who not only helped with sounds and sandwiches but wrote the framework and provided onsite js assistance and mental health support.
Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Innovation(Jam)3.50
#316Humor(Jam)2.71
#347Audio(Jam)3.13
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#551Graphics(Jam)2.88
#583Overall(Jam)2.83
#645Theme(Jam)2.50
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Those sandwich graphics are amazing.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Nice job! I love the sound effects! What would have been fun is if small sub-branches randomly spawned while you were playing to fill in the screen! Nice job!

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Like it a lot. Original. I can identify with the tree for some reason.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Great athmosphere! Had some troubles figuring out how to control the growth though. Really love the music :)

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Pretty nice, controls are kind of hard to figure out

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I like it! The controls were a bit tricky initially, but i found it compelling nonetheless!

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

i liked it,,, the graphics and idea are greats, good job

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Thanks for all the comments. Controls are now on there - I might get around to making root selection less spazzy at some point.

copain says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:56pm

good idea. can be a little more reactive...

Mnemusyne says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Nice mechanic. Controls are kinda hard to get used to. Good job overall.

radmars says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Neat mechanic, surprisingly entertaining!
Was a bit confused about the different phases of growing a branch, maybe a simple color swap, or a different shape. (horizontal arrow vs vertical arrow etc)
Nice entry :D

oxysoft says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:36am

Definitely a weird entry. The idea was pretty cool but it could have been executed a bit better I think. The mechanics were also a bit hard to figure out

Indie Squid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Really like the mechanic! Simple, interesting and easy to understand. I can see playing it on my cellphone.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]