Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drilling Beneath the Surface

by Chemical_Studios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had a lot of fun in my first Ludum Dare. This is the game I made, Drilling Beneath the Surface. In this game you start at ground level and dig down, avoiding traps to find a gem! Once you find the gem, you can safely navigate back to the top and deposit it.

**Requires Java
java.com/download

**EDIT:**

Post-ludum dare fix:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/4lslgloa3b1a61f/post+ld29+res+fix.jar
This version fixes the buttons not working on lower resolution monitors, there are still quite a few bugs and changes I'd like to make after ludum dare is over. To keep up with whatever I'm doing, feel free to check out my temporary website!
I'd absolutely love more feedback in the comments :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#249Theme3.62
#515Audio2.84
#607Fun2.96
#630Graphics3.04
#632Mood2.91
#798Overall2.93
#818Humor2.07
#941Innovation2.55

Comments

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

That was interesting, I was a bit confused initially as to why I was dying; I didn't realise the darker blocks were different.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Nice done for your first entry! Did you make the music too?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Thanks! I used an online music generator for the music, and created the sound effects myself. http://abundant-music.com/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

AngryPriest: Thank you very much for the feedback, in my future projects I'll try to make it more obvious what is hurting the player. :)

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Good job!

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Pretty fun! The screen was taller than my resolution so I couldn't actually see the bottom row. Also the sound was extremely quiet for some reason.

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

A bit easy, but a good production. Well made, and it feels complete.

jayitinc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nicely done but some instruction on the darker blocks would've been nice.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I liked it, cosy and relaxed game play. Though a bit repetitive.

f7f5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Congratulations for finishing your first ludum dare! It's a solid entry, if a bit simple: I played all the way till the end. Dying on the trap blocks also confused me at first, but I guess I should have just payed more attention to the instructions.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Really nice game. I also died a few times before figuring out the darker bricks kill you. It could really benefit from adding a time constraint. As it stands, the best way to get the highest score possible, is to play REALLY carefully and just drill every block that doesn't hurt, which boils the game down to color matching. Adding a timer would force the player to make quick decisions and plan paths to get the most amount of good blocks in the least amount of time.

Anyway, REALLY nice!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

mcburrobit, I agree 100%, if I extend the game post-ludum dare, I'll definitely add that!

To everyone else:
Thank you very much for your feedback, I am sorry I didn't make it obvious enough of a hazard. Thank you all for your kind words! :)

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29am

Interesting idea ... if this game would last longer and had more different obstracles (for example stones that fall down) it could become quite addictive.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

cool little game. the levels were a bit easy in parts and it took me some tome to learn to avoid the darker blocks. but is was short and fun!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I won with a score of 3130! This was a feel-good game. Cute sprites, but overall really easy to finish, especially as you regenerate lives after each gem.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Thanks guys! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)
I'll attempt to add more difficult challenges and stuff in the post-Ludum Dare version, I will start working on it after voting for this Ludum Dare is over! :)

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:14am

Cute little game and quite fun. You should add some kind of time pressure to make it harder.
I liked the art a lot. Well done!
I scored 2500, but I have no idea what my score means. You should either display the score in-game, or give a hint like "try to beat the game faster" or "try to get hurt less".

I encountered a small bug where on the main screen, the area I had to click for the buttons was shifted down. What I mean is that clicking "play" and "how to play" did nothing, but clicking "quit" actually started the game. This is on OS 10.9.2, java version "1.6.0_65"

MithosKuu says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Decent start, I would suggest making the trap blocks more noticeably lethal, as they are now they don't really read as a hazard.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:52am

Hi. Good job completing first time! Got to Lv 4 before moving too fast into darker block. Instant restart seems a bit harsh, but, maybe...

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Interesting and fun. Took me a couple games to realize why I died. Would be cool if there were things to discover each level.

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:11am

Not a bad little game. Only improvement I would like to see is a digging sound. Well done, I played it a few times!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]