Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ores!

by TinyMeteor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about collecting ores, while avoiding enemies above and under the surface.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Q - Radar, can be used every 3 seconds.
E - Dig
Arrows - Shoot

The Danger meter fills when you move, drill or shoot, every 25% a new enemy will be awakened to stop you, at 100% the enemy drops a nuke and you die.

Collect the right amount of ores and take the portal that appears, try to get as many ores as possible.

I am no music or art man, so there's no music and terrible art, but I hope you enjoy the gameplay.

I think I fixed most errors, bugs and sound issues, if not, please tell me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Innovation3.25
#517Theme3.31
#798Fun2.75
#837Overall2.89
#978Audio1.75
#1215Graphics1.88
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Sorry, but I won't play ANY games that use comic sans!

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Good Idea, but i think its a little bit too easy :)

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I totaly like the idea that you have to find the ores with a radar. However, I find the radar sound extremely unpleasent.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

The graphics are not awesome but the gameplay is good.

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

The core idea of using the radar to detect the ores is interesting, and applies the theme really well. While a cool down on the radar seems like a good idea, it would be far less frustrating to deal with if it was shorter. Also, some element to add more difficulty would be great. I understand making enemy AI tougher to deal with in 48 hours isn't really reasonable. But, I wanted to make the note, because I think the core idea is strong

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Decent idea, but the game was a little easy. Also found the shoot sound to be horribly shrill.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I agree on the fact that the core idea is very neat. Teh execution and difficulty curve are also good. It's a bit slow but I had fun playing it. My best score is 134.
The warping walls make the ennemies fight sometime too easy. I really like the fact you can see them through the holes you dig.

You said you re not a music man but you put just what the game need in term of sfx feedback. They re very effective.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I like these kind of games, but it would be better, if there were more enemies with less defense. Also them appearing out of nowhere isn't the best option. Maybe they should come from corner of the screen, so there is no spawn damage.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Good gameplay, but a little too easy

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]