Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oil Drillers

by PixelMind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Some Chrome users have reported unresponsive buttons.


CONTROLS:
Zoom = Q E | Mouse wheel | Numpad plus & minus
Camera move = WASD | Mid mouse | arrow keys
Select = Mouse left click


HELP:
- Reddish brown areas are POTENTIAL oil pockets. You only see oil after you've drilled to the bottom of a pocket!

- Build pumps by clicking on a drill which has found oil. You only get money if your pump is working!

- Discovery vehicles DO NOT show if a pocket has oil or not

- Move your discovery vehicles by left dragging them to a new location.

-------------------------------------------------------

First LD 48h compo entry! I was too tired to think of better name so this one will simply be called Oil Drillers (for now atleast).

The game is a mini sim where your objective is to build your own oil field and try to get deeper and deeper underground where all the biggest oil pockets are located.

Build drills to get to oil pockets. Once your drill hits oil, you can build pump which starts to bring you some money. Oil discovery tools help you locate those potential treasures.


I'll update the screenshots later! Hopefully Dropbox is ok for sharing this.

WEB CLIENT EDIT (date 28.4.2014):
Added support for keyboard camera movement and zooming. The game couldn't really be played without mouse wheel and mid mouse button. I also lowered the web player's resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#52Theme3.97
#131Innovation3.77
#270Overall3.48
#384Graphics3.42
#517Fun3.06
#707Mood2.83
#843Audio2.17
#972Humor1.81

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Well made! Reminds me of a flash game I've played in the past... :D

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I think game screen size is too large for monitors <1080p

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

We who don't have a "middle mouse" and a "mouse wheel" need alternatives!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I like the look you've gone for but the gameplay seemed a bit awkward. I couldn't really tell whether I was doing the right thing or not. GUI elements were often overlaid on each other too, making it hard to see what was going on. Overall though it's a nice idea & a great use of the theme.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Good point SuperChihuahua :D

Am I still allowed to change the control scheme to support mouses without mouse wheels?
I'd probably change the screen size aswell. I guess that's fine?

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I loved it, always nice to follow cash flowing in a game.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I like the concept and nice use of the theme.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I love stuff like this!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Brilliant. I'm still playing it! Really addictive. Great interface, really intuitive. You should probably explain how to zoom out as I didn't realise how big the map was until accidently rolling the middle mouse button.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16pm

It's hard to make a balanced financial game in 48 hours, but you've more or less done it.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Thanks for all comments :)

I updated the web client _slightly_. I simply added support for WASD and arrows camera movement along with QE and numpad+- zooming. The game couldn't really be played without a 3 button mouse. I also lowered the web player resolution to support smaller monitors.

Let me know if someone feels like this is not ok. I still have the original web build on my disk.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

There is A LOT to explore here. Nice work putting it together in this sort-of city-builder :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Well done. It's an interesting similator to find oil.
$$$$$ ++

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really interesting idea! The UI could have done with some work - sometimes it was hard to read the money in the top left - but it was good other than that!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:07am

i like the game a lot. the silhouettes of the rigs are cool! kept me playing for a while

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice concept and gameplay.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Nice concept!

Angry Falcon says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Я не могу найти кнопку для игры, где игра?!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]